For the love of books | 25/02/16

Welcome to the first in my ‘for the love of books’ posts! Every Friday I’ll bring you (or try to bring you) a post chock full of all of the book-related stuff that I’ve fallen in love with, laughed at or been intrigued by over the last seven days. Enjoy, friends!

The Bear and the Piano by David Litchfield

Yes, it’s a children’s book. Yes, I am probably approximately 18 years outside of the target market but hey, the heart wants what the heart wants! It’s the story of a bear who stumbles upon a mysterious piano in the woods and over time becomes a bit of a maestro, before realising that fame and fortune might not be all it’s cracked up to be. It’s accompanied by the softest, most beautiful illustrations and I just want to keep looking at it. It’s exactly the sort of story book I want to read to all of the little people in my orbit. Or y’know, just keep for myself.

Just look at that cover and tell me that it’s not one of the loveliest things you’ve seen over the last seven days, huh?

64473
Via David Litchfield

Waterstones Children’s Book Prize Shortlist 2016

A really diverse and impressive mix of genres and styles for older readers, tackling everything from ghosts to dystopia to cults to sexuality and gender identity. Um, I’ll take them all please! With Francis Hardinge’s ‘The Lie Tree’ recently winning the Costa Book Prize and plenty of authors facing down important topics through the medium of children’s literature, I feel like it’s time for YA to really shine.

This article by Sara Barnard about the lack of female friendships in YA

Despite me raving about how well YA is doing in the above point, I feel this article so much. We read so many stories written by inspiring, bold women and yet there still seems to be a real lack of badass female friendships in YA at the moment. In the wise words of Flo Rida (lyrical genius of our times I think you’ll agree), ‘Where dem girls at?!’

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – The Official Script Book

Lets get something straight. This is NOT the 8th book in the Harry Potter series (if it was the next 100 blog posts on this site would probably be dedicated to my eternal excitement) but it’s pretty special nonetheless. Oh and it’s half price on pre-order you say? I have no money but TAKE WHAT GALLEONS DO HAVE LEFT ANYWAY.

giphy.gif
Via GIPHY

What have you guys been loving in the world of books, YA and literature this week? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

