TBR | March 2016

Last month I left my job and my colleagues (aka the best people in the world to me right now) got me the most bloody brilliant leaving present: a £50 Waterstones voucher. You, as my fellow book nerds, will know that this is pretty much the equivalent of catching the golden snitch in a grudge match against Slytherin. There is no happier feeling than the one you get standing in your favourite bookshop with money to burn.

Bookshelves_and_Biros_March_Haul

Here’s my March haul:

  • Junk by Melvin Burgess
  • All The Rage by Courtney Summers
  • I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • The Ask and The Answer (Chaos Walking #2) by Patrick Ness
  • Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking #3) by Patrick Ness
  • 642 Things to Write About by the San Francisco Writers’ Grotto

So it’s currently the 2nd of March and I’ve already read the Ask and The Answer, and I’m very nearly finished with Monsters of Men. Oops. They’re so compelling that I just can’t put them down. I know I’m going to have the biggest book hangover ever when I finally finish (so much so that I’m putting it off – please don’t leave me yet Todd and Viola!) If anyone has any recommendations to fill the YA series shaped hole in my life they will be gratefully received!

I’m so excited about this haul that I have literally no idea what to pick up next. ‘Junk’ has been on my list of books to read for about a billion years, but I’ve heard such great things about all of the others that I’m getting really indecisive. Maybe I’ll toss a coin.

March_Book_Haul_2

Unusually for me, I also spent some of my voucher on a book that I can’t technically read…for Christmas my sister bought me a ‘Listography’ book, which has kind of spawned a mini-obsession with journals, notepads and things that I can generally use to ramble and scribble in. The cheeky little number right at the top of the pile above is an absolute gem for those of us that are trying to sharpen our writing skills or just relax through putting pen to paper. It’s kind of like a mindfulness colouring book for bloggers, and I bloody love cracking it open (alongside a bottle of wine) when I’ve had a less than fun day.

And that’s it! What are you lovely lot reading this month?

Leave a Reply

