For the Love of Books | 4th March 2016

FRI-YAY! Here’s my weekly bookish roundup:

1. World Book Day Quiz

I have no problem admitting that I am a complete child, so this quiz appeals to me on all sorts of levels. Have a go and see if you know your Matilda from your Moomin. ALSO – Happy (slightly late) World Book Day everyone! It’s still just about World Book Week, so I reckon I can almost get away with it.

2. The Tale of Peter Rabbit & The Royal Mint

In honour of the 150th anniversary of Beatrix Potter’s birth, everyone’s favourite fictional rabbit becomes the first literary character to get his own coin. With such a rich literary heritage in the UK it’s about bloody time, too. I just have one request though – next time, can we have the other Potter celebrated on a coin pretty please Royal Mint?

3. Free ‘Rebel of the Sands’ Chapter

Well isn’t this just a gorgeous surprise! I can’t bloody resist a bargain, so I’ll pinch that first chapter thanks very much Guardian book people!

4. Harry Potter and the Quotes That Never Were

So. Much. Yes. This is why I love you, Buzzfeed! It’s rare that I say anything derogatory about the world of HP, but I wish some sassy Harry lines had made it into the films. 😦

“Is it true that you shouted at Professor Umbridge?”
“Yes,” said Harry.
“You called her a liar?”
“Yes.”
“You told her He Who Must Not Be Named is back?”
“Yes.”
Professor McGonagall sat down behind her desk, frowning at Harry. Then she said, “Have a biscuit, Potter.”
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

4. Remembering Louise Rennison

So many people received the news of Louise Rennison’s passing with real sadness. Her death is a real loss to the UKYA world and it was lovely to see a community of fans and book lovers come together to celebrate her work, her characters and her life.

Have a lovely little weekend bookworms!

3 thoughts on “For the Love of Books | 4th March 2016

Leave a Reply

