The Bohemian Rhapsody Book Tag

Thank you to thebookishunderdog for creating this awesome Queen-themed tag and being the first blogger to tag me! Let’s get this show on the road, shall we?

1. Mama, just killed a man – A fictional character’s death that really upset you?

*SPOILER ALERT*

I don’t think I’ve ever quite recovered from Callum’s dramatic end in Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses, but like any self-respecting Potterhead the death of the one and only Severus Snape made me want to lock myself in a room and cathartic cry for at least three days.

Harry_Potter_Always_Wands.gif

2. Carry on, carry on – Pick a book that was hard to keep reading but was worth it in the end?

I guess this might not be true if I was to re-read it now, but aged 13 I found The Hobbit a bit of a slog. Hey! Before you turn to me with disgust on your face – I know it’s a classic, I know it’s an incredible work of fiction and imagination but you can’t deny that as a kid; it’s bloody hard work.

3. Sends shivers down my spine – pick a book with a beautiful spine/cover?

Harry_Potter_Deathly_Hallows

Predictable, but come on. Just look at it.

4. Goodbye everybody, I’ve got to go – A book that you couldn’t finish?

There have been a few books over the years that I thought I would really enjoy and unfortunately, just didn’t. This is the worst part of being a book nerd – the excitement, the anticipation and then…oh. Last year I started reading If I Stay by Gayle Forman. There was some hype around the film adaption so I thought I’d give it a go before I watched the movie. I didn’t mind it to begin with, but it was just so full of cliche that I got a bit fed up. It was also, if I’m reeeeally honest, a touch boring. I put it down to try it again later and six months on I haven’t picked it up again…soz.

5. Thunderbolt and lightning, very, very frightening – which book did you find very, very frightening?

Anything by Sophie Hannah is liable to give me the creeps. I don’t usually find traditional horror books scary (although I enjoy them), because logic interferes and tells me it’s not real! However, Hannah’s twisty dramas always have just enough psychopaths to make me want to watch cat videos before I go to bed.

6. Bismillah, no! We will not let you go – which book/series do you wish there had been more of?

I echo the thebookishunderdog on this one – as a big Potter fan, there will never be a point where I think ‘right, I’ve had more than enough of you, Harry. I guess it’s time to move on!’ Even the idea of that makes me shudder.

But I have just finished reading Patrick Ness’ Chaos Walking trilogy and they are such beautiful, thoughtful books. I really, really wish I could keep reading about those characters. TODD AND VIOLA 4EVA.

7. Mamma mia, mamma mia – which book/series should be made into a musical? 

This is actually I really hard one! I spent ages trying to think of one that I would actually want to go and see, but once I did, another forty or so popped into my head. In the interest preventing anyone reading this from dying of boredom, I’ve narrowed it down to two.

Holes by Louis Sachar and The Outsiders by S.E Hinton would make completely different but bloody brilliant musicals. I, for one, would love to see Stanley Yelnats and Mr Sir on a West End stage as soon as possible.

8. The head banging bit – Which book made you face-palm?

Again, few books make me do this because I don’t stick around for long if I’m not enjoying it. I do think that the whole ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ world is completely cringe, though. I read a bit of the first book when curiosity got the better of me and within about sixty pages I wanted the earth to swallow me whole and wipe my memory. I have no issues with books about sex, but I do have issues with poorly written books about creepy dudes.

9. Oh baby, can’t do this to me, baby – pick a moment from a book where you felt like the author was being mean to you?

Whilst reading Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series, I got a bit frustrated the amount of twists surrounding Jace’s parentage and the impact on his relationship with Clary. I ship Clace as hard as the next TMI fan, so this is more a fangirl gripe about how regularly Clare denied me the joy of them being together! She’s pretty good at getting you invested in romantic pairings and then taking a big ‘ol sledgehammer to your feelings. Cry.

10. Nothing really matters to me – which character/s did you not care about?

I’m currently reading the seminal Junk by Melvin Burgess. Despite all of her gripes about parents and growing up in a dead end town that pretty much anyone can relate to, I’m struggling to find even a tiny part of myself that can be bothered to care about Gemma. Obviously I’m super early on in the story, so hopefully I’ll change my mind as I keep reading!

So that’s it! My first tag done. I tag:

Bea @ When Curiosity Killed The Cat

These Books of Mine

Charleigh’s Book Nook

Enjoy! 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Bohemian Rhapsody Book Tag

  1. I only just realised you did this! Loved your answers! 😀

    Weirdly, I actually loved The Hobbit as a kid and read it over and over. Then I reread it last year (having completely forgotten everything about it except for the scene with Gollum) and I found it so, so dull. Crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

