For the Love of Books | 11/03/16

Here’s to the end of another working week! Grab a cuppa (or a bottle of wine, I won’t judge) and get stuck into my bookish round up of the last seven days.

Lady Midnight Release

This has shaped up to be a little gem of a week for us YA lovers, hasn’t it? I can’t wait to see what this generation of Blackthorns have to add to Cassie Clare’s Shadowhunter world. I’ll be high-tailing it to town this week to pick it up, so if any of you have already read it (JEALOUS) let me know what you thought in the comments! 🙂

Lady-Midnight

New Pottermore content from J.K. Rowling

This needs absolutely no words from me other than: YAAAAAAAAAAAAS. Get on it now if you haven’t already.

Bookshelf Envy (via Buzzfeed Books)

Oh baby. I spent a good fifteen minutes drooling over this at work the other day. Check it out and just try to stop yourself from spending all your dolla in B&Q in order to create sexy built-in bookshelves.

YA Book Prize Shortlist

Am I Normal Yet? The Lie Tree, The Rest Of Us Just Live Here, Asking For It, The Art Of Being Normal…What a list. They all get to win, right? Because if not those judges have the hardest (and yet most glorious) jobs ever. Good luck chaps!

The Guardian’s Top 10 Female Villains

I absolutely love this article from the author of Beetle Boy, M.G Leonard.

I love a good female villain, because they shock or frighten a reader by violently bucking the gender stereotypes of women as fragile, maternal or compliant. A kick-ass female villain often has intense desires, a searing intellect and an intriguing glamour or mesmerising repulsiveness.

– M.G. Leonard

The world that we live in likes to stereotype and sexualise women on a daily basis, so as far as I’m concerned there’s always cause to celebrate when a character smashes their way out of one of those boxes (whether that happens to be in a heroic fashion or an evil one). Characters like Bellatrix Lestrange and Mrs Coulter make my skin crawl, but that’s exactly why I love them.

BellatrixLestrange

9 Beautiful and Unique Bookshops from around the World (via The Reading Room)

Dreamy.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to make immediate plans to bribe my boyfriend into tracking down the Word on Water bookbarge shop with me. It’ll probably involve me baking a cake. Have a suitably Dark Artifices-filled weekend!

Leave a Reply

