For the Love of Books | 18/03/16

Friday-Reading-Meme

AND BREATHE. The weekend is finally upon us, little book friends! Here’s my round up of all the brilliant book-based things I’ve seen this week.

YALC Announces Author Line-Up (via The Guardian)

For those of you who might not be aware, the London Film and Comic Con also hosts the most amazing little get together for us book nerds: YALC. The Young Adult Literature Conference is the brainchild of Malorie Blackman (bae) and it’s a-mazing. I say this without ever having actually been BECAUSE WHAT IS LIFE, but with dedicated book panels, author Q&A’s and just general YA book lovin’ how could it not be?!

The list of authors attending so far includes Melvin Burgess, Frances Hardinge and Malorie herself. Like I said, a-mazing. I’m planning on heading to Olympia to get in on the action this year, if anyone else is thinking about paying a visit let me know in the comments! πŸ™‚

17 Tumblr Posts All Book Lovers Will Feel In Their Soul (via Buzzfeed Books)

Tumblr is my fave. Number 8 is legit me as a parent.

Waterstones Children’s Book Prizes Winners

With such incredibly strong categories across the board, the winners would have always been worthy but I was so pleased to hear that David Lichfield won Best Illustrated Book for The Bear and The Piano. I’ve mentioned his book in one of my FTLOB posts before, but it’s just so soft and lovely and I want to sleep with it under my pillow because I feel like I would never have another bad dream again, y’know?

Books on the Big Screen

Pretty much every time I look at Twitter another book-to-film or book-to-TV adaption is announced and this year we seem to be spoiled for choice. I’m always dubious and excited about adaptions in equal measure, because they have potential to be amazing but also potential to be so very disappointing (Soz Shadowhunters, I’m looking at you). But, I must say that this newly released trailer for Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children is ALL KINDS OF YES. Also, Eva Green + Tim Burton is a match made in movie heaven as far as I’m concerned.

Malorie Blackman Book News

Yeah, I have pretty much the biggest author crush ever on Malorie. Not even ashamed. I’m so excited that her new novel, Chasing the Stars, is going to be released next month and even more pleased to hear that her writing will be as frank and perceptive as ever. Is it April yet?

What have you guys been loving this week?

8 thoughts on “For the Love of Books | 18/03/16

Leave a Reply

