For the Love of Books | 24/03/16

Crikey, I can’t believe it’s nearly the end of March already! That means it’s nearly a month since my little blog was born, which is crazy. Thanks to everyone who’s had a look or followed me so far, it means a lot. 🙂

It’s Friday and that means a weekly round up! Put your feet up and stay a while, won’t ya?

What makes a good YA movie adaption?

Like I pointed out in last week’s FTLOB post, there’s tons of YA adaptions being announced what seems like every week. I love the idea of books coming to life on the big screen, and the trailers for A Monster Calls and Miss Peregrine both fill me with pure, unadulterated delight.But sometimes it just goes so, so wrong, like this article from iO9 points out.

I gotta say that unfortunately I agree with every entry on this list, including City of Bones, which I was indescribably excited about. Robert Sheehan, Jamie Campbell Bower and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers? Oh by the angel, that casting was on point. But the script was not. Soz.

Just say no to library closures

Recently, the council where I live announced that they were going to close eight out of nine of the libraries in the district, as well as cutting a mobile library service. EIGHT. I kid you not, this crap actually happens. I responded as cuttingly as I could to the consultation because apparently angry social media comments don’t count as a proper response, who knew?

snape-shrug-gif.gif

However much you enjoy or don’t enjoy reading, no one can deny their importance, especially for children, the elderly, those who can’t afford internet access and just generally FOR THE PURPOSES OF EDUCATION AND SOCIAL MOBILITY AND CULTURE AND LIFE.

Interestingly, the government has actually done something semi-decent for once and intervened. Hopefully, this means that the libraries where I live are safe for the time being, which is absolutely a definitive reason for me to crack out a bottle of wine tonight.

21 Things Only A Series of Unfortunate Events Fans Remember Doing (via Buzzfeed Books)

Legit guilty of at least fifteen of these.

Unfortunate Events is such an underrated series, but I suspect that will change when the Netflix adaption hits out laptop screens this year (OMGTHISYEAR). If you haven’t immersed yourself in the miserable world of the Baudelaire children yet, please do it. For your own sake.

Simon Mayo to release awesome-sounding YA Novel

Radio 2’s Simon Mayo has announced he’s releasing his first YA novel with Penguin Random House as part of a brand new three book deal. It’s a thriller called Blame and the idea has me totally hooked already! Find out more about it here.

Have a lovely Easter weekend little pygmy puffs!

wordpress-sign-off

7 thoughts on “For the Love of Books | 24/03/16

  1. 8 out of 9 libraries what the hell? Recently my local council tried to shut down my old primary school and 3 other schools in the area and make one big one, but this would literally mean 4 year olds would be travelling for like an hour at least a day. Why do government officials never think?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, it’s literally crazy. I just can’t fathom how they think that’d work for people who live remotely and don’t have access to transport, or the elderly or disabled. Utterly ridiculous! That’s mad! They seem to live on a different planet to the rest of us lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

