Book Tags | The Harry Potter Tag

This fizzing whizzbee of a tag was created by the wonderful people over atΒ Bookidote. Not content with just creating a super cool tag, they also made all of the INSANE graphics below. Thank you for letting everyone use them, they are gorgeous.

Thanks also go to the ever brilliant Kai @ Black Cat Kai for tagging me, plus my sincere apologies and hugs for taking so long to actually get round to doing it. You should totally click and have a look at her blog when you have a sec!

The Rules:

The fourth floor corridor is out of bounds to all those who do not wish to die a most painful death (felt the need to add that in to set the scene, soz not soz) and You CANNOT use any Harry Potter books as your answers. Damn.

Let’s do this.


flagrate

A book where you found the theme interesting, but you’d like to rewrite it.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: The Maze Runner could have been bloody brilliant in the hands of anyone but James Dashner. His writing is just so clunky.


alohomora

The first book in a series that got you hooked.

city of bones cover

Oh man, so many. I’m a big fan of reading series, because you get to immerse yourself in the books that you love and hang out with those familiar characters for just that bit longer. I’ve gone with City of Bones, the first installment in the mammoth The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. I first started reading them at a time in my life where I wasn’t all that happy, and they gifted me with some welcome escapism. Y’all know this already but I’d live in the Shadow world if I could.


accio.png

A book you wish you could have right now.

the-wrath-and-the-dawn-cover.jpg

I’ve actually got a rather delicious little stack of books sitting tantalisingly close to me as I type this, but I’m on a self-imposed ban from reading them until I go on holiday in a couple of weeks. I can’t wait to get stuck into them all, but I’m especially looking forward to sticking my nose in The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. I’ve heard such good things and I haven’t read ANY re-tellings yet (nope, not even The Lunar Chronicles)!


avadakedavra

A killer book. Both senses. Take it as you like.

Noughts_and_Crosses_by_Malorie_Blackman[1]

Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman killed me emotionally. Still not over it. Will probably never be over it. SOB.


confundo

A book that you found really confusing.

the-northern-lights-cover.jpg

To begin with, I found The Northern Lights (His Dark Materials #1) by Philip Pullman pretty mind-bending. I think it’s because the world is so complexly realised and there are so many characters. Then again, it could also be because the first time I read it I was in my final year of university and with everything else I had to focus on, even boiling an egg was confusing.


epectopatronum.png

Your spirit animal book.

matilda-roald-dahl-gif
Credit: crushabledotcom.tumblr.com

And this is where it gets REALLY bloody hard to not be able to use Harry Potter as an example. Sad face. Outside of the Potterverse, I would probably say that Matilda by Roald Dahl is my spirit animal book. Full of books, magic and mischief!


spetumsemtra

A dark, twisted book.

sharp-objects-book-cover.jpg

Although I read mostly YA, I do love psychological/thriller/crime books. I think Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn is one of the darkest books I’ve read over the last couple of years. The characters are unlikeable and sly, the setting is suffocatingly bleak and the plot is nasty. Incidentally, it was a bloody brilliant read.


adaasd.png

A book that surprised you in a great way, reveals to be more than it is.

Β Lots of books surprise me for all sorts of reasons, but recently I was surprised by I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson. I always tend to read books after the hype has died down a bit, but I still don’t like to expect too much of books that everyone raves about in case I end up disappointed. This contemporary YA sweetheart was anything but disappointing, and I found it infinitely more poignant and affecting than I thought I would.


nominees

If you’ve already had a go, please feel free to dodge this like you would a bludger hit by one of the Weasley twins!

wordpress-sign-off

 

34 thoughts on “Book Tags | The Harry Potter Tag

  1. I used The wrath and the dawn for that answer too, I just can’t wait to get my hands on it !
    And I 100% agree on I’ll give you the sun, it just wasn’t anything I expected emotionally speaking and I loved it. I also wait until the hype dies down to read a book, hype has a weird effect on me, it makes me hesitate more than kt makes me want to jump into the book right away 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww, Matilda is such a perfect pick. I think it’s many book lover’s spirit animal book. ❀

    I'm glad you enjoyed I'll Give You the Sun and that it lived up to the hype. I'm looking forward to reading it later this year. I haven't read nearly enough LGBT teen fiction this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, it’s probably a bit of a cliche choice but I couldn’t resist! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did, I thought the relationships were really well written. I’d love to read some more LGBT+ fiction this year too – if you have any recommendations please do chuck them my way! πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awwww you making me blush!! So sweet, thank you!!

    And no worries, you know how many things I’ve been tagged in that I STILL haven’t done yet?? Man, it’s crazy πŸ˜„

    Nice answers! I second City of Bones!! That whole series makes me happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for the tag! You’re the sweetest! And this is such an awesome tag (check out those graphics!). The Wrath and the Dawn is literally high up on my tbr list, but it has such good reviews that I’m afraid it won’t deliver. Let’s hope it’s not one of those! πŸ™‚

    Have a lovely day, Sammie x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Omg I haven’t thought about Noughts and Crosses and all the associated heartbreak in so long! I think that was one of the first books that made me seriously cry until I felt like my head was going to explode. It’s such a great series. Thank you for reminding me of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. AMEN to what you said about The Maze Runner!! And in the end I enjoyed Northern Lights, but I had to read it twice…and unfortunately the series went downhill from there. Great job working in all the HP references! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! It’s good to know it’s not just me that feels that way. I really liked the rest of the series but I did find it very complex and had to take my time over it! Haha thank you! That was probably the bit that took me the longest. Thanks for stopping by to comment. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

