For The Love Of Books | 29/04/16

It’s Friday again guys, and it’s double, triple, quadruple happy times because it’s a BANK HOLIDAY! In celebration, I’m typing this while drinking a coffee with one sugar instead of none. Don’t hate me cos you ain’t me.


Bookshelves & Biros Picture of the Week

The Cursed Child has landed!

Β Quite literally, actually. Excuse me whilst I go and have a little happy cry.


Bookshelves & Biros Round Up

More authors confirmed for YALC, plus tickets go on sale for #YAShot

An all-day Harry Potter party in conjunction with Mugglenet, a special A Monster Calls panel with Patrick Ness and eleventy million new authors added to an already pretty peachy line up? YALC certainly knows how to play to its audience. I can’t wait to see the full schedule when it gets released!

chandler-excited.gif
Image credit: wondermentsofme.tumblr.com

If you can’t make YALC but you can get to London, go forth and check out #YAShot, which is in October. The day time festivities are followed by the UK Young Adult Book Blogger Awards (YABBA, for short), so its pretty much guaranteed to be an incredible day and evening. I can’t go, so you lot should totally go on my behalf and then TELL ME EVERYTHING.

Goosebumps Alive @ The Waterloo Vaults, London

I would genuinely love to go to this, but I am far too much of a wimp and I’m also terrified that the ventriloquist’s doll (YOU KNOW THE ONE I’M TALKING ABOUT, R.L. STINE FANS) would be there.

Watership Down gets another adaption

Another day, another adaption announcement, but just look at that voice cast! Olivia Colman, James McAvoy and Ben Kingsley? I feel like this is a great time to be alive, y’know?

The best advice I’ve seen this week

I just have to give a shout out to Naz over at Read Diverse Books, who wrote the most brilliant piece for bloggers this week. He totally summed up why it’s great to be a blogger, plus he gave loads of tips which I guarantee you will find useful whether you’ve been blogging two weeks or twelve months! Go check it out.

farimir-clapping
Image credit: tlotrgifs.tumblr.com

Count Olaf spotted in Canada

Just HOW on point does Neil Patrick Harris look in his Count Olaf get up?! As each day goes by I get more and more desperate for this Series of Unfortunate Events adaption to hit my laptop screen.


Added to the Bookshelves & Biros Wishlist

I added this tote-ally cute bag to my holiday shopping list this week. I’m justifying the purchase as an essential travel item because I need a suitable vessel to carry my books to the beach in.


I hope you all have the most wonderfully bookish weekend! Let me know if you’ve seen anything that you just can’t help sharing this week.

wordpress-sign-off

19 thoughts on “For The Love Of Books | 29/04/16

  1. Ahh I didn’t realise more authors had been announced for YALC today. I’m SO EXCITED about that Patrick Ness panel!! Are you going/have you been before? I went last year and it was awesome, so already got my tickets for this year πŸ˜€ I’m also trying to get tickets for YA Shot (which I went to last year) but the website wasn’t working earlier 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t either until my Twitter feed exploded haha! Are you on Twitter? I haven’t been before but I’ve got a ticket to go on the Saturday, which unfortunately means I’ll miss the amazing Patrick Ness, but it’ll be so much fun anyway. πŸ™‚ Ahhh amazing, what did you see last year? Are you going for all three days? Oh that sucks! I can’t make YA Shot but it’ll defo be on my list for next year. πŸ™‚ xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aww it’s a shame the Patrick Ness panel isn’t on the Saturday, but you will still have an awesome time anyway πŸ˜€ Ooh let me see… well without a doubt, my highlight of last year was seeing Cassandra Clare! IT WAS AMAZING ❀ There were loads of great panels, and the great thing about YALC is it's all on one stage so you can go to everything if you want to (which I basically did). A lot of the authors who are going this year were also there last year – people like Holly Bourne, Non Pratt, Lisa Williamson, etc. All of them were great πŸ™‚ I am going all three days, so hopefully see you there! And I am indeed on Twitter πŸ™‚ it's @Jessiecar_

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know, I was practically squealing!! It wasn’t a panel, it was kind of like an interview/conversation event with her and Sarah Rees Brennan. Sarah was kind of interviewing Cassie. The two of them were just hilarious together, so they were a pretty awesome double act πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. I have literally just discovered YALC and I am determined to go this year! I didn’t even know there was a YA convention in London which is really shamefull because I work in London, I should have known about this.
    I went to Goosebumps Live with my friend last weekend and it was amazing. Definitely really creepy though and for me that ventriloquist’s doll wasn’t the worst part, there were a lot of jump scares!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly I didn’t know either until a couple of months ago! I’m a bit of a compulsive planner and I was looking for fun things to do over the summer. πŸ™‚ oh my God! What was the best bit? Again would love to go but that doll hahaha. πŸ˜‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

      • I found out like a couple of days ago! I’m determined to buy tickets as well so once in check out whether I can get the time off work I know what my money will be going on!
        The best part was when everyone kind of crowded into an elevator, all the lights went off as if it was stopped between two floors, it was pitch black and everyone was very kind of anxious as to what was coming next and then this hand came down form the ceiling. Everyone screamed, including me, but afterwards that kind of relieved, slightly nervous laughter started up. It was just a great day. I also loved the part that was a version of Say Cheese and Die. It was all brilliant honestly!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am so so tempted!
        Do you mean about the actual Goosebumps Live event? My friend was actually the one who mentioned it to me, but I went to the Alice in Wonderland one at the Vaults last year so I was really excited to see their take on Goosebumps this time around!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, Samwise!
    I was just reading your post thinking about what I wanted to comment on and then you linked to me! Thank you.

    For some reason, my blog doesn’t get notified when people link to me, so I never know when it happens. I’m guessing it has to do with my blog being self-hosted, but I can’t be sure. Anyway, one of my tips was not to worry about little things like this, so I let this go a long time ago! haha

    Also, my name is Nazahet (you can call me Naz). Not Tran. Hehe. I’m used to people getting my name wrong, so I don’t really mind that much πŸ˜›

    I certainly will have an awesome weekend! This Sunday my book-buying ban is OVER and I get to buy books again! The ban was necessary to save money, but it was so BRUTAL. I am proud of myself for sticking to it all month, though. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! I think it probably is to do with the self host, I’ll remember to let you know if I nominate you for any tags or awards. πŸ™‚ I’m SO sorry Naz! I was so tired and writing this quite late last night and for some reason ended up with a name mix up. Good thing I’m not a teacher lol, no one would ever get the right work back. πŸ˜‚ YAY! Well done for sticking to your book ban, I hope you have an awesome Sunday buying all of the books. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

