Blog Awards | The Blogger Recognition Award

BLOGGER-RECOGNITION-AWARD.jpg

Thank you so much to Emma @ The Bookish Underdog and Emma @ The Book Crunch for nominating me for this lovely award; big hugs to you both! Head over to their blogs and check them out, they’re two of my absolute favourite book bloggers.

Rules:

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

How My Blog Started

Well, I’m afraid that it’s not as exciting a story as you might like! I’ve blogged here and there over the last few years, as well as dabbling in Fanfic (I know, I know) and writing for a couple of online zines, but I’ve never really had a regular creative outlet.

I had a few wonky months at the beginning of the year, and I wanted something to pour some energy into in the evenings and at the weekends when my poor little brain was whirring constantly and working itself into a froth. I’ve always loved to read, and I didn’t really have anyone to geek out about books with, so a blog about books seemed a natural choice. I published my first post (a review of the Curious Incident Of the Dog In The Night Time) accompanied by just a tiny bit of fear and a bucket of coffee about three months ago and the rest, they say, is history!

I wasn’t really aware of there being this incredible book blogosphere before I started, but I’m so, so glad that I’ve been able to be involved with it over the last few months. I’m learning and discovering new things every day, and despite how geeky my friends and family think I am, I think it’s the best hobby and community ever.

jimmy-fallon-hug.gif

Image source

My Advice for New Bloggers:

Giving advice to new bloggers seems totally weird, because I’m still a new blogger myself and I make silly little mistakes that niggle at me all of the time. But I learn new stuff every day, so I hope that this helps someone out there. 🙂

Interact as much as you can with the book blogging community

It doesn’t matter whether you’ve been blogging for two hours or two years, the book blogging community is super friendly, welcoming and appreciative, so you have nothing to worry about as a newbie.

Everyone who blogs about books is here because they love to read and they love to talk about reading even more. Nothing beats the feeling that you get when someone leaves a comment on your blog, or engages you in conversation on one of their posts. Reply to comments, comment on other people’s work and enjoy getting to know awesome people from all over the world who love books just as much as you do. You’ll make friends in no time, promise!

Your blog is for you, and there’s no wrong way to do it

Don’t be afraid to write the content that you want to write. It could be a monthly news round-up told purely through GIFs, a daily bookish quote or a fun tag that you saw on someone’s site. Want to post twice a day? Great! Busy, and only want to commit to once a month? Equally great! There is no wrong way.

The point is: blogging is something purely for you. There’s no one to tell you when to post, what to post or how often to post. You’re not employed by your blog, it’s certainly not your parent and your followers definitely won’t judge you. You could have started a blog for any number of reasons, but one of them is probably that it makes you happy. As such, you have a duty to yourself. Post what you want, own what you post, and most importantly, have fun. 

katy-perry-slay.gif

I nominate all of these brilliant bloggers:

If you’ve been nominated already, revel in the knowledge that lots people love you! Haha, but seriously, no pressure as always.

wordpress-sign-off

48 thoughts on “Blog Awards | The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Thank you so much for nominating me! ❤ I absolutely agree with both your advices. Blogging should be fun – it's not a chore we *must* do everyday or else we'll have to face consequences. It's something that makes us happy, even if we do it once a week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for the nomination! 😀 I really enjoyed reading this! I love reading about how other bloggers started their journey, and yours sounds just like mine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your advice is wonderful and so true! I love hearing advice from newer bloggers because we’re all learning the ropes together and it makes me feel more connected with you guys as opposed to a hugely popular blogger who doesn’t interact with his or her followers. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks so much for the nomination! I loved your adivce for newbies, though I think it applies to everyone as well. I certainly try to interact with other bloggers as much as I can, and ensure that my blogging never becomes a chore. I love everything about this site and the community and I never want to have to give it up for any reason 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awww thank you!! Sorry it took so long to see this! Vacation & travel doesn’t leave room for regular online check ups. I’ll be sure to let you know when I get my own posted! It could be a while but I promise it’ll happen!!

    That is great advice on book blogging. I find that interacting & doing it for yourself are big ways to feel successful at it. It can be hard at first, but it’s definitely rewarding and gets easier!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s okay! And no worries! 🙂 Haha no it totally doesn’t – hope you had a fun time wherever you were! Thank you so much. 😀 Absolutely, it’s so rewarding once you get going and speaking with new people from all over the world! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahh, sorry this reply is late! Thank you so much for the nomination 😀

    That is such great advice! I found that those two things have really helped me, especially with being so new to everything. Interacting is definitely one of the things that really got my name out there and I’ve met so many wonderful people in the process. Having fun is super important too. Sometimes I find myself stressing, but then I take a step back and I realise I made the blog for me and that as long as I’m enjoying what I post that’s the main thing!

    I definitely feel you about everyone here being so lovely too. It definitely makes interacting and being yourself and having fun so much easier!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • No worries love! No problem. 😀 Thank you so much. Same! I think being new to it makes blogging and talking to others who have a few followers or have been doing it for a while seem a bit scary but you’re right, everyone is so nice! 🙂 I’m exactly the same – I have weeks where I get a bit obsessive and realise I need to take a break and realise why I started lol. I think I’m more myself here than I am in quite a lot of other situations too, so I totally agree. 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

