#ThisIsWhoIAm | The Square Root of Summer Time Capsule

Disclaimer: I received a free ARC of The Square Root of Summer from the publisher, Pan Macmillan, in exchange for an honest review. You can check out my Review Policy here.


I recently read and reviewed an ARC copy of The Square Root of Summer, the debut book by hot new UKYA author Harriet Reuter-Hapgood. It was a lovely read full of cinnamon muffins, starry kisses and a whip-smart, time traveling heroine named Gottie. If you’re interested in finding out more about what I thought, you can check out my review here.

The book is being released across the UK on the 5th of May, and is available in book shops and online. If you’re looking for a sparkly summer read with a sci-fi twist, this is the one for you. Not convinced? Just look at that cover, guys! Let’s just all take a minute to swoon collectively…

the-square-root-of-summer-macmillan

I was invited to take part in My Kinda Book‘s #ThisIsWhoIAm campaign, so in the spirit of Gottie and her bespectacled love interest Thomas, I’m going to share my very own time virtual time capsule with you. Woo! I originally had a list of about thirty things to put into my imaginary time capsule, but I’m only supposed to have five. It really made me realise how hard it is to sum yourself up as a person in a only a few items!

 

Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone

hp-philosophers-stone

Obviously there was always going to be a book in my time capsule! I stopped at one, else the whole thing would have just been books, not that I view this as an issue in any way but the finder of my time capsule would probably be a bit bored. I credit the Harry Potter series with really kicking off my reading obsession, and in the years since I read the very first chapter, it has never lost its magic, its humour or its ability to make me feel safe and happy.

Rumours by Fleetwood Mac

mac-rumours

Unquestionably the best album of the 1970’s, if not of all time. Rumours is the perfect summer soundtrack, and if I could only listen to one record for the rest of my life this would be it. Also, STEVIE NICKS.

Yorkshire Tea

Tea is life, tea is love. I can’t function without a good cup of tea and if I deem it necessary, I will take tea bags on holiday with me, so it’s definitely going in the capsule. Who knows if we’ll even have good tea to make a proper brew in the future? WHAT HAPPENS IF WE DON’T?! British industry would grind to a halt, that’s for sure.

Photo Album

The people I have around me are the most important things in my life, second only to my books. Kidding. Or am I? Either way, I couldn’t have a time capsule that represents who I am right now without including my favourite photos of all the people that influence me, support me, and make me laugh. Photos of my family, my dogs, my friends, my time at university and me and my boyfriend would definitely all be in here!

A notepad and coloured pencils

wp-1462299414693.jpg

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not artistic in any way, but I’d definitely have to include some sort of stationary. For a start, my blog is called Bookshelves & Biros, so there’s not really any getting away from the fact that I’m a bit of an office supply hoarder. Secondly, for me, having a notepad and snazzy pencils around to doodle, make lists, get down blog ideas or do some colouring helps me get back on track when I’m feeling sad or frazzled.


What would your virtual or physical time capsule look like? Have you read The Square Root of Summer yet? Tell me all in the comments!

wordpress-sign-off

17 thoughts on “#ThisIsWhoIAm | The Square Root of Summer Time Capsule

  1. Oh, I love this idea! The Square Root of Summer looks like such a lovely read…
    I’d definitely have tea in my physical time capsule too, books are a must, and my notepads. πŸ™‚ These things alone must say a lot about us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

