The 6 Stages Of A Book Hangover

1. Sadness

i'm-lost-kirsten-stewart

Usually experienced when you realise that nope, you can’t live in the book you’ve spent the last three days, two hours and thirteen minutes reading and yep, the sequel is still coming out two years from now. This stage of the hangover is often accompanied by a sense of loss, apathy and a lack of focus on anything that isn’t your finished book.

2. Anger

harry-potter-angry

Do authors get their writing powers from the potent tears of heartbroken readers or something? WHAT IS THIS CRUEL WORLD.

3. Isolation

bridget jones

Drinking wine in bed with your finished book clutched in your claw-like hand is a lifestyle choice, thank you very much.

4. Oversharing

You find yourself forcing information about your new favourite OTP onto innocent bystanders who have the misfortune to be stood too close to you. The lady on the checkout in Tesco, your dog, the man at the bus stop: NO ONE IS SAFE. What’s that? No you can’t actually borrow it, you might break the spine.

5. Desperate Obsession

mean-girls-obsessed-gif

You’ve furiously ordered the other books in the series PLUS anything else that the author has ever written (this probably includes unrelated short stories and even that novella that has a 2.5 rating on Goodreads), before you find yourself scanning Etsy in the middle of the night for merchandise that you don’t need and definitely can’t afford the shipping for. Yep, that is a Lady Midnight badge. Stylin’.

In extreme cases, you might even find yourself awake at 3am scouring Fanfiction with glazed eyes and three half finished cups of coffee. This is a bad sign. I repeat: A BAD SIGN.

6. Acceptance

7462edd3082eb140fe2e013f86c3f548

Image Source

The final stage of the book hangover is acceptance. One day, you wake up and find that you’ve come to terms with the book being over: it’s finally time to move on. You can now reach for your TBR pile without feeling like you’re having a sordid literary affair. The birds are signing and the sun is shining and you find that despite the emotional roller coaster, you can now look upon your old book with fondness. It was a good book and after all, it would want you to be happy.

Important note for friends and family of bookworms worldwide:

Book hangovers are serious and victims should be treated with care and compassion (and pizza, pizza helps). Although the symptoms vary from reader to reader, its important to remember that they will eventually return to normal and continue their reading career. No, they’re not dying, no matter how much they tell you that they are.

If the patient has not improved after a couple of weeks, it is essential that you help them before they enter into the dreaded book slump. You can do this by dusting down their bookmarks, making them a cup of tea and placing another book of above average feels into their hands.

wordpress-sign-off

 

30 thoughts on “The 6 Stages Of A Book Hangover

      • I was like that at the end of The Hunger Games. I couldn’t get Katniss out of my head for weeks. I read them 6 years ago and she’s still in my head. I’m doing a post this week on blogs with original content I love. Would you mind if I link this post and mention your blog? This is a post everyone should have the pleasure of reading. : )

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Hunger Games is a great example of a series that gave me a monumental hangover too haha! Some characters just stay with you I think, it’s one of the things I really love about reading fiction. 😊 Of course not! That’s such a lovely thing to do, thank you so much! I look forward to reading it and finding some new blogs to check out. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know. Some characters are so great it’s like they’re real people. I talk about Katniss like we went to high school together. Lol. I’m such a crazy fan. Okay, awesome! I’ll probably post it Monday or Tuesday.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha I love that! I’m totally the same with certain characters – especially when it comes to Harry Potter. All fan girls together! 😂 Amazing – thank you so much for choosing to include me, that really means a lot!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh thank you Jorelene! 😘 They definitely can, I sometimes feel like I’ve had an argument with a friend or lost something important! Absolutely! That’s one of the things I love most about books – any and all emotional responses are better than none! 😊 x

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is such great and funny post. I hate it when I’m reading something amazing and then suddenly there’s no more pages left, and I have to close the book and blankly stare at nothing feeling sad that it’s over! Book hangovers are like “what am I doing to do with my life now?” moments. 😪😂😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YESSS at this entire post. God, this is sooooo accurate. I’ve been out of reading for a fair while and I forgot how absolutely awful book hangovers are. I’m actually experiencing one right now, haha and all of the points you listed are so real. Finishing The Raven King and the new Rick Riordan book in a space of a few days was NOT a good idea. I can’t think of anything else except those two books 😢😭

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aha thank youuuuuuu! ❤ Man, I know exactly what you mean, I don't know how you're getting through the emotional trauma of finishing both of those books in the last few days! Literally everyone who seems to have read The Raven King says the same thing haha. Clearly I NEED to get on with reading that series and then I can suffer the woes of the book hangover too lol! Thanks for the comment! 😀 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

