Summer Holiday TBR

I’m forgoing my normal Friday round up post because I’m going on holiday tomorrow (YAAAAS) and I want to share my summer holiday reading list with you!

christina-aguilera-excited.gif

Image Source

So y’know a while back I wrote about the issues that I have with deciding which books to take on holiday with me? Yeah, well, my significant other doesn’t believe that we need an extra case for books (he ain’t Will Herondale, this one) so I’ve narrowed it down to the list below. This could probably be classed as a little excessive (especially because I also have Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets Of The Universe downloaded on my phone) but hey, a book blogger has gotta do what a book blogger has gotta do, right?

All cover pictures are linked to the book’s Goodreads page. Just so ya know.

The Wrath and The Dawn, Renee Ahdieh

TWATD.jpg

I. JUST. CAN’T. WAIT. TO. READ. THIS. No other words necessary.

The Art of Being Normal, Lisa Williamson

TAOBN.jpg

As with lots of other popular YA books, I’ve been waiting for the hype to die down before reading this because I really don’t want to feel let down. Saying that, I’ve only heard good stuff, and I don’t think I’ve ever read a book about a transgender character, so I’m expecting an awesome read and to learn a thing or two! I also chose this because hopefully it’ll be a nice contemporary to break up some of the other darker books that I’m bringing with me. It is a holiday after all, innit?

An Ember in The Ashes, Sabaa Taahir

EMBER IN THE ASHES.jpg

I’m totally taken in by the ancient Roman setting of this book, and I really, really hope that it lives up to the fab reviews that I’ve read! This is the only book that I’m taking in my hand luggage (ooo, gamble) because it seems like a pretty complex world and being on the plane will give me some time to fully absorb the detail. I’m hoping it’ll keep me more than occupied on the four hour flight! (Pls, because I really don’t want to turn to the vodka, but I will if pushed).

Tiger Lily, Jodi Lynn Anderson

TIGER LILY.jpg

I’d actually never heard of this book until I read a review that popped up in my Goodreads feed. I absolutely love Peter Pan, and I think Neverland and Barrie’s characters lend themselves perfectly to a darker, more evocative retelling. I’m also really, really curious to read a story set from Tiger Lily’s perspective, who is only really a fringe character in Pan.

A Monster Calls, Patrick Ness

A MONSTER CALLS.jpg

I think I’m going to read this towards the beginning of my holiday, because based on the blurb, reviews and the movie trailer, I just KNOW that I’m going to cry. I think reading this when I’m due to come home would probably result in my tying myself to a deck chair and ripping up my plane ticket.


What do you guys make of my holiday reading list? What would be your ideal summer book haul? Let me know errrrrythang in the comments!

wordpress-sign-off

 

31 thoughts on “Summer Holiday TBR

  1. Sammie, I hope you have a great holiday! πŸ™‚ I’ve started reading The Wrath and the Dawn, and I’m really not too sure about it. You’ll have to let me know your thoughts when you get to it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohh, I hope you have a great holiday, and I think you picked some great books to take with you as well. Granted I’ve only actually read The Wrath and the Dawn but I have An Ember in the Ashes and A Monster Calls on my to-read list and I’ve heard great things about The Art of Being Normal too. I really hope you enjoy them all!

    Like

  3. I hope you enjoy your holiday! How long are you going for? It’d take me weeks to get through all those! (though possibly quicker than I think because it IS a holiday after all). The Wrath and the Dawn is such a great book! An Ember in the Ashes and A Monster Calls are both on my TBR πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! πŸ’– I’m going for nine days, I don’t think I’ll get through the whole lot but I’m going to give it a good bash haha! πŸ˜‚ yes so much more reading time on holiday! I’m reading Ember at the moment and really enjoying it, I think WATD will be the next one I pick up. 😊 thanks for the recommendation! X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

