You Know You’re a Book Blogger When…

  • The gallery on your phone constantly looks like this:

image

  • You keep a notepad in your bag/next to your bed/in your car for when inspiration strikes.
  • You live in fear of your laptop breaking, having to pay for Canva or the WiFi going down.
  • You wake up in the middle of the night for a wee and find that to be a good excuse to check your WordPress stats.
  • Your non-book blogging friends unfollow you on Twitter because every Friday night their feed is suddenly full of #ukyachat and despite you explaining, they still don’t know what it means.

got-shrug.gif

Image Source

  • Your friendly local book shop staff recognise you, plus they definitely know that you’re too old to be spending that much time in the teen section.
  • The pile of books you want to read and review is so big, that your family fear it might well crush you one day.
  • You start thinking of days out as potential blogging opportunities, ‘I’m sure I can make that shopping trip around Warwick relate to Shakespeare somehow…we are fairly close to Stratford-Upon-Avon after all…’
  • Abbreviations like ARC, TBR, MC, OTP and YA become part of your every day vocab and you look at your friends and family blankly when they tell you they have no idea what you’re talking about.

the-hobbit-wut.gif

  • Sunny days make you want to stand on a chair and take photos of your latest book crush surrounded by a number of carefully selected, color coordinated objects. THE LIGHT IS JUST SO GOOD FOR BOOKSTAGRAM.
  • Your Google history is mostly made up of bizarre things like ‘throwing book against the wall gif’ and ‘Harry Potter book hangover’.
  • You did a little happy dance when your first ARC got approved on NetGalley, but keeping that little feedback percentage at 80 is the bane of your life.
  • Goodreads to you is what Facebook is to other people. I’ll take your blurry pictures of Sunday dinner and raise you a status update about The Raven Cycle.

It’s fun being a book blogger, ain’t it?


PS. I’m currently on holiday with all of my books, so if you are so kind as to leave a comment and I’m super slow to reply (or don’t reply at all), rest assured that I am neither ignoring you or an ungrateful blogger! ❤

wordpress-sign-off

 

 

 

41 thoughts on “You Know You’re a Book Blogger When…

  1. Haha! Hilarious post! And so true! Who did not dance when their first NetGalley request was approved, uh? I hadn’t noticed the feedback percentage, it crushed me when I realized xD It’s so hard to maintain it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely agree about the pile of books on your to read list point! Most of my to-read list is either not yet released books, not yet brought books, or Kindle books but if they were all physical books they would have crushed me long before now 😀
    Also I did a little happy dance when my first NetGalley ARC was approved!
    I really loved this post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All of this had be nodding in agreement!

    “The pile of books you want to read and review is so big, that your family fear it might well crush you one day.” Haha exactly!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This post was brilliant!! I found myself relating to so many of these! I especially laughed at the Google gif search because I do that all the time 😂😂 Getting my first Netgalley ARC was so exciting, but then I got a bit too carried away with requesting books 🙈 I think I’m getting better now though! And I have a TON of books piled up on my desk and I’m pretty sure I’ll die if the ever fall on me 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 💖 Haha literally my search history and my desktop is full of bizarre gifs aha! 😂 I totally agree with the netgalley thing too, I’m so bad at requesting and then taking ages to finish them…oops! Hahaha I feel you, if I ever disappear from WordPress you know that’s probably what’s happened to me. 😂 x

      Like

  5. Love it. So true! Another is having a spouse/friend/family member help with some aspect of bookstagramming because you only have so many hands to hold sets AND take the picture.
    My husband has a particular groan to “babe, can you help me hold the background up?!”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I really love this post. It had me smiling and nodding to the end. The bit about checking stats in the middle of the night, you made me feel less weird about that. Awesome post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

