For The Love Of Books | 27/05/16

Hello my loves! It’s the start of a brand new bank holiday weekend (soz if you work in retail) and I’m back with an ever-so-ranty round up of the week for you all to celebrate with. Ready? Yep? Let’s do this.

wine-bridesmaids


Bookshelves & Biros Photo Of The Week

book-reference.jpg

Image Source

So this is basically my life summed up in one handy meme.


Bookshelves & Biros Round Up

Simon Cowell To Pen His Own Children’s Book

Apparently, all of the books that he’s read to his son are ‘boring’ and he thinks he could do better, so now he’s decided to pen his own work of fiction about animals. GIVE ME A BREAK.

Clearly he’s never been enchanted by the lyrical prose and poignant message of Where The Wild Things Are, giggled at The Gruffalo or shared in Sophie’s horror when The Tiger That Came To Tea drank all of the water in the taps. Obviously he’s never fallen in love with the timeless illustrations in The Very Hungry Caterpillar, or sung along with Michael Rosen’s characters on their infamous bear hunt.

Children’s literature is some of the most vibrant and exciting in the industry, and there are a host of incredible new authors and illustrators in addition to the classics that surprise, delight and educate young children and big kids (like me) every day.

The only upside to this that I can see is that the more famous people that wade into the conversation about the benefit of reading, the better. If his book causes one more child or one more parent to pick up a story to read together, then that’s awesome. But, that doesn’t make it okay to suggest that there’s nothing out there right now. There are bad books and boring books, yes, but there is also the stuff of brilliance and there still will be whether Cowell picks up his pen or not.

Dan Brown Gets Patronising

Oops, here comes another rant! I really not do not understand what would possess Dan Brown to decide to create a special young adult version of The Da Vinci Code. Also why, oh why, does the powerhouse publisher that is Penguin Random House think that this is what the YA market needs and wants?

Why not actually write a new book or series with nuanced YA protagonists, thought provoking plot points and a complex symbology based mystery to solve? Come on, it’s not as if The Da Vinci Code is a difficult book to digest and enjoy in its original form, and its no longer than Divergent or fuller with taboo subjects than any YA book on the market right now. This is absolutely NOT what young readers are missing, and its an insult to authors and readers to suggest that young adult books are a tidy, watered down version of their ‘adult’ counterparts. No one needs or wants this, Dan. I repeat: STEP AWAY FROM THE LAPTOP.

Enid Blyton For Grown Ups

Now this; this I LOVE. Quercus have announced that they’ll be releasing four tongue-in-cheek stories based on Enid Blyton’s iconic Famous Five books. The titles will focus on the group as adults, and include Five Give Up The Booze, Five Go Gluten-Free and Five Go On A Strategy Away Day. Lols. I’ll definitely be asking for one of these to go in my stocking.


Bookshelves and Biros Wishlist

harry-potter-print.jpg

Image Source

Me and my boyfriend are due to be moving house in September, and I’m currently eyeing up these utterly gorgeous Harry Potter prints from MMPaperCo on Etsy. Apparently I already have too much Harry Potter stuff, but I’m fairly certain he’s speaking another language because I have literally no understanding of what he’s saying.


What bookish news have you lot been keeping an eye on this week? Are you drooling over Harry Potter home decor like me? Let me know allllll of the things in the comments!

wordpress-sign-off

17 thoughts on “For The Love Of Books | 27/05/16

  1. Wow. I have not heard this about Simon Cowell. I would give my usual response about arrogant people who think they can just jump into a community and genre they know nothing about and “do it better” but Cowell’s whole persona is really built on being arrogant, so who even knows how serious he is with the insults?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “I’m fairly certain he’s speaking another language because I have literally no understanding of what he’s saying.” 😂😂😂

    I felt sooo nostalgic reading the titles of all those children’s books you listed! The Very Hungry Caterpillar was one of my all time favourites. And oh my gosh, the Bear Hunt song! I actually still know most of the words, haha.

    The Dan Brown thing is SO ridiculous. The presumption that young adults or readers of YA need things “simplified” is so patronising.

    The take on the Enid Blyton books does seem like it could be quite hilarious though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahahaha, well, it’s true! 😀 Ahhh man I felt nostalgic listing them, I was pretty selfish though as they’re all of my favourites from when I was small haha. I’m glad they had the same effect on you!

      RIGHT?! Exactly. It’s funny that the publishers have gone for completely opposite approaches. I think the Enid Blyton ones are definitely done with a sense of humour, but the Dan Brown thing is just pure greed, plain and simple. I just don’t understand how he could think that an abridged version is what anyone wants?! Crazy stuff. x

      Like

  3. I hate to admit but I was late getting on the Harry Potter train- but once on? I read every single one- straight through! And when we went to Universal Studios a year or so ago? The Harry Potter area was very well done! the Butter Beer was really good- hot or chilled…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

