Book Tags | Totally Should’ve Tag

Stoked to have finally gotten round to doing this great tag!

Thanks so much to the wonderful Beth @ Reading Every Night for nominating me, and I’m sorry it’s taken me such a long time to get on with it. Please head over and check out Beth’s blog, I love her posts but her reviews especially are A++.

Covers = Goodreads

Totally Should’ve Gotten a Sequel

Hmm. I’ve been asked this question before and I actually don’t think that I have an answer to it. I’m usually sad when I finish a really good standalone book, but that doesn’t mean that I think it should have a sequel.

cillian-murphy-shrug.gif

Image Source

I’m okay with my answer, because it turns out it was a perfect opportunity for a Cillian Murphy gif. Drool.


Totally Should’ve Had a Spin Off Series

wp-1459595747486.jpg

I’ll Give You The Sun, Jandy Nelson

I would really, really, really, REALLY like a spin off series about Brian and Noah complete with wonderful starry metaphors and purple prose and lots more kissing against trees. Jandy, babe, if you could do this for me, I’d be eternally grateful.


Totally Should’ve Ended Differently

the-next-together-cover.jpg

The Next Together, Lauren James

I’ve literally just finished this little sci-fi hun and I basically loved it, but that ending was so confusing. I don’t necessarily want a different ending, but I reckon if she’d had about sixty or seventy more pages it could have been a lot better paced and much less confusing.

That cover though. Dreamy.


Totally Should’ve Had a Film Franchise

The Chaos Walking Trilogy, Patrick Ness

Be still my beating heart. I can’t even begin to imagine how awesome that franchise could be. Now that A Monster Calls is getting the movie treatment, I’m keeping all my fingers and toes crossed.


Totally Should’ve Had a T.V. Show

Noughts_and_Crosses_by_Malorie_Blackman[1]

Noughts and Crosses, Malorie Blackman

I still can’t quite work out why none of Blackman’s books have made it to TV or film. I can’t think of many other UKYA books that would be more impactful on screen than Noughts and Crosses. It’s still so full of relevancy today, and it’d be a great way to introduce it to a new generation.


Totally Should’ve Had One Point of View

junk-cover

Junk, Melvin Burgess

Truth be told, I struggled to find an answer for this one because I generally love split perspective books. I don’t think that Junk should have only had one point of view, rather I think it should have stuck to those of the two main characters, as opposed to bringing others in.


Totally Should’ve Had a Cover Change

TIGER LILY

Tiger Lily, Jodi Lynn Anderson

I don’t know what it is about this cover, but I just don’t like it. I have literally no better reason to give you than that.


Totally Should’ve Stopped Reading

if-she-did-it-cover

If She Did It, Jessica Treadway

Just balls out terrible. Save yourself a couple of hours of life by not bothering.

PS. This book is also bizarrely known as Lacy Eye in the US, just in case you clicked on that link and were horribly confused. Is it me or is that the weirdest title for a crime novel you’ve ever heard?!


Totally Should’ve Kept the Covers

The Princess Diaries, Meg Cabot

I love the 2001 edition of The Princess Diaries with Mia on the front in a dress, tiara and combat boots. It’s cute, fun and tongue in cheek, which sums up The Princess Diaries perfectly. After the first film got made, they predictably changed the cover to include the words ‘now a major motion picture’, complete with tacky font and a gaudy crown. Cry.


Totally Should’ve Not Pre Judged

me-before-you

Me Before You, Jojo Moyes

I am totally guilty of thinking that this would be another paint-by-numbers, cutesy romance novel. I looked at and thought: perfect for a beach holiday, but nothing special and certainly not my usual go-to read. I was wrong. I cried. I’m sorry.

crying.gif


I tag:

No pressure, as always, lovely people!

wordpress-sign-off

 

19 thoughts on “Book Tags | Totally Should’ve Tag

  1. Ohh, great answers for this tag! 😀
    Now you’ve mentioned it I would LOVE to see a spin-off for Brian and Noah from I’ll Give You the Sun, I would have loved to see more of their story in general because I almost feel like it ended a little too suddenly in the book. Also, yeah, definitely prefer the original covers for the Princess Diaries books, I haven’t read all of them but the original covers just look so bubbly and fun and the newer ones are kind of boring in comparison!
    Me Before You is on my to-read list for this summer, though I think I’ll probably read it indoors rather than on the beach, I feel like this is definitely going to be one that makes me cry as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Beth! ❤ Omg how good would it be?! Yeah I felt like that a little too, but then again I think I would have felt like that no matter how long she had dragged it out for hahaha. I literally love those two together so much!

      Hahaha! Just get yourself a good pair of dark sunglasses and a secret stash of tissues and you'll be fine. 😀 It's so sad, but also a very funny summer read – it's a great choice for a holiday and I hope you love it! 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right ❤ And yeah I suppose as we were seeing things through Jude's POV at that point there was only so much Brian and Noah we were going to get, but I guess maybe if we keep our fingers tightly crossed we could get a sequel on day! 😀
        Well if I read it during the summer I can do the sunglasses without it looking too weird 😀 I'll still probably start this in the pirvacy of my own room though, rather than in public! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah that’s a fair point! I suppose there was also actually a huge amount of plot/growth to pack in so the romance had to take a little bit of back seat in the middle of the book. I hope so! Fingers and toes crossed!

        I don’t blame you! Get those sunnies out and let me know what you think when you finish it. I will expect sobbing haha! 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly, and I think I’d rather there be the plot and character growth than the romance because if not it would have felt like a weak story and I know I wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much. 😀
        Oh I feel like there will be ugly tears when I start this book!

        Like

  2. “I’m usually sad when I finish a really good standalone book, but that doesn’t mean that I think it should have a sequel.”

    This exactly. (Also Cillian Murphy, hell yes.)

    I seriously need to get off my butt and read I’ll Give You the Sun, and all of Patrick Ness’s stuff.

    “Just balls out terrible.”

    Ha! I’ll steer clear.

    Great list! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I JUST got the notification that you tagged me!

    Thank you so much! I’m going to get on this first thing tomorrow!

    Lacy Eye is a pretty weird name. I don’t understand what it is supposed to mean!

    I added a bunch to my TBR list reading your answers! As always, awesome post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t worry, my WP goes haywire sometimes and then I realised weeks later I’ve been tagged in something! No problem, I hope you enjoy it! 🙂 It is so weird right? It’s fairly appropriate because it’s a weird book too, lol. Yay that’s awesome! Thank you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

