Book Tags | The NY Times Tag

Welcome to another installment of ‘Sammie does tags because she has a billion reviews to write and when it comes to reviews she’s slower than a snailing up a hill.’ That sounds good, right?

Despite never having read the NY Times, I absolutely love the questions in this! Cheers to the brilliant Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews for giving me a little tag. You can check out all of her answers right here.

(The NY Times By the Book Tag was originally created by Marie Berg and you can watch her original video here.)


What book is on your nightstand now?

All of these little beauties. It was my birthday last week (I’m offically old, in case you were wondering) and my boyfriend and my Mum lovingly obliged in my quest for shiny new books. Love those guys.

Only question is; what in the heck do I read next?!


What was the last truly great book you read?

image

Click to check out my Instagram

Gonna cheat here, but the last two truly great books that I read were a A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (poignant, raw, truthful) and The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson (funny, important, frank). I raced through them both on holiday, and loved every page of both.


If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

ALL OF THE AUTHORS. If I had to pick a top three, it’d be J.K. Rowling (duh), Patrick Ness and Roald Dahl.


What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

20160610_195652.jpg

I’m a big fan of food, and cooking is probably my greatest love after reading, so I actually have quite a few cookery books tucked away on my shelves. This includes a MASSIVE (like seriously this book is heavy asf) classic French cookery book called Larousse Gastronomique.


How do you organize your personal library?

image

By author/series, and also kinda by genre. Like, I tend to try and keep the dystopia and fantasy books in one section, and the contemporary books in another. Unfortunately this doesn’t always work out exactly as I’d like because my shelves are smaller than they would ideally be and also I’m just a fussy little bitch.


What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?

Everything? I always think I should read some more of the ‘classics’, but I can never really motivate myself to get round to it. Plus, I’m not afraid to own the fact that YA is what interests me at the moment, so that is what I read.

I have a copy of The Colour Purple which I’ve been meaning to read for AGES and still haven’t gotten round to doing. I basically need someone to come around and hit me over the head with it repeatedly until I agree to start it.


Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

image

You guessed it, didn’t you?

The Wrath And The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. I can and do rant about this all day, which you will probably know if you read my recent review. Sorry to keep banging on about it but I JUST CAN’T STOP. Hopefully I’ll read another really bad book soon so I can stop moaning.

PS. My hand looks super weird in that photo. Dunno why I feel the need to highlight this, but I do.


What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I’m always drawn to fantasy or dystopian novels with an element of romance. I’m just a sucker for them feels, and the threat of the end of the world usually heightens the stakes for me.

I also like contemporary novels that allow me to put myself in somebody else’s shoes, as well as psychological crime thrillers (the creepier, the better pls). I tend to steer clear of new adult books, as I kind of feel that they all have very similar story lines. Plus I’m a cover snob and the covers are usually horrible. Especially when they have dudes in cowboy hats on the front, and a lot of them seem to.

Maybe that’s just me?!


If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

Good God. Anything that focuses on the problems of normal human beings who have to cope with things like money worries, the rising cost of higher education, zero hours contracts, gender pay inequality, poor sex education in schools, LGBT+ or racially motivated hate crimes, mental health issues, homelessness, a disability or the need for state-funded healthcare? That should give plenty of options.

demi-lovato-shrug

Image Source


What do you plan to read next?

Because of the aforementioned delicious book haul, I now have no idea what to read next. Suggestions on a postcard pls. Or just in the comments, whatever suits.


Here come the tags:

wordpress-sign-off

24 thoughts on “Book Tags | The NY Times Tag

  1. Love reading your answers!! I’m resisting the urge to scream about how you should read Illuminae or The Raven Boys 😂 Your bookshelf is so cute!! I tend to avoid New Adult too for the same reasons. Every single one is like Good Girl™ meets Bad Boy™ and borderline abusive relationships follow. It’s a shame because as someone in my 20s I’d love to see a NA that actually focuses on struggles 20-somethings go through. And haha, yes at your President recommendations. Australia’s current political party needs that too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank youuu! 🙂 I actually just finished The Raven Boys, so you can lessen your screaming to just Illuminae now! 😀 I thought it was good, but it was totally different to what I was expecting!

      Hahahaha yes – exactly that! Either borderline abusive relationships or superbly tacky (and gross) sex scenes based on nothing other than living next door to them. I actually read Paper Princess by Erin Watt recently and that was actually really good NA – super addictive and well written! I totally agree though, it’d be good to see some real life reflected in them.

      Haha it’s so worrying isn’t it?! I really don’t know how we’ve gotten into the situation we’re in now but there we go. x

      Like

      • 😂😂 READ ILLUMINAE SAMMIE!!! I feel like TRC definitely gets better in the next book. I enjoyed The Raven Boys but I LOVED The Dream Thieves. It is quite a strange series though, haha.

        Ooh, I’ll have to check that one out!

        Ahh, I know!! We have an election coming up and I’m so worried we’re going to keep the same party in :/ sigh.

        Like

  2. This is possibly the most wide-spread tag around. I have seen it everywhere, but especially on Booktube.

    I say you should read Carry On next 😀
    Your shelf is so neat and lovely. I’m not very good at organizing my books. I just sort by general genre. For example, I have a shelf dedicated to Speculative Fiction, a small one for non fiction, and literary fiction. It’s easy!

    Yeah, your hands look totally weird. NOT really. Why would you even say that? lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • It does seem to be spreading across the blogosphere at an amazing rate! Okay, I will definitely take that recommendation into account, as it’s you! 😀

      Thank you! It’s not always that tidy, especially because I have too many books to fit on it. 😦 Hopefully I’ll get a bigger one when I move! That’s a good way of doing it, I tend to try and sort by series by the bookshelf isn’t huge so they have to cross shelves sometimes and that makes me sad. 😦

      Hahaha! I’m not sure – it was just something that popped into my head. I’m not very good at filters, as you’ll probably be aware with my other posts haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the tag! I LOVE your Harry Potter shelf!! ❤ Totally agree that The Art of Being Normal was a fantastic book 🙂 You should definitely read Carry On first (I'm biased, because this book really turned me into a squealing fangirl last year haha). I've got The Raven Boys on my shelf, but I haven't got round to reading it yet… I think I've had it for a couple of years now – oops! Great answers 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

