Book Tags | The Bookish Booklover Tag

untitled

It’s tag time again! Thanks so much to The Bookie Monsters for tagging me. Their blog is absolutely full to the brim with great content, so you guys should definitely head over and check it out when you have some time. This tag was originally created by Shantelle.

The Rules

  • Use the original banner
  • Answer the questions!
  • Use lots of book covers
  • Tag your friends

What book are you currently reading?

I’m currently getting stuck into an ARC copy of Blame by Simon Mayo, and Chasing The Stars by Malorie Blackman. Yasss, #UKYA!

What’s the last book you finished?

the-raven-boys-cover

The last book that I finished was The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I had absolutely no idea what was going for about 90% of the book but I couldn’t put it down! It had a totally different feel to any fantasy that I’ve read recently, and I’m intrigued to see where it goes.

Favourite book you read this year?

Monsters_Of_Men_Review_Header

Ouch. I hate these questions. I’ve read some incredible books this year…I think my top three would be: Of Monsters and Men by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking #3), I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson, and Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (The Dark Artifices #1).

Man, thinking about that question made me realise just how many bloody brilliant books I’ve read this year.

What genre have you read most this year?

It’d probably be a close call between fantasy and contemporary YA.

What genre have you read least this year?

I’ve not really read much crime this year, which is odd for me. Recommendations for creep-tastic, skin-crawling thrillers welcome in the comments, little’uns!

What genre do you want to read more of?

I’d love to read more high fantasy, LGBT+ YA and more sci-fi, now that I’ve discovered sci-fi isn’t just about aliens. I’d also like a to read a really good historical YA. Does anyone know if such a thing exists?!

How many books have you read this year, and what’s your goal?

According to Goodreads I’ve read 29 books this year, which I’m pretty pleased with considering I have a full time job and I also have to sleep and whatnot. My GR goal for this year is 45, but I think I could push to 50 if we actually get some sunny weekends in the UK this year.

What’s the last book you bought?

img_20160414_192103.jpg

Click to check out my Instagram

I haven’t actually bought a book for a while (omg I know) because it was my birthday, I’ve had a couple of library books on reserve and I’ve also ended up with a few ARCs from NetGalley. It’s all been quite lovely tbh, and I haven’t even had to spend a quid. The last books I bought myself were the ones that I took on holiday to Cyprus, which you can check out here if you’re interested. What a nice little haul it was too.

What book are you saving up to buy next?

Hmm. Once I’ve worked my way through my birthday pile, I’d like to get my hands on either Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor or As I Darken by Kiersten White, both of which I’ve heard SUCH good things about. Also, those covers are just on point, aren’t they?

How many books did you check out last library visit?

Two. The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks and The Next Together by Lauren James. They couldn’t be more different from each other, but I really rated them both. Don’t you just love being able to read awesome books for free?!

What’s a book you can’t wait to read?

torch_in_the_night_cover

Obviously I’m totally excited for the Harry Potter and The Cursed Child script, but I’m also really looking forward to seeing where Sabaa Tahir takes her characters in A Torch In The Night (An Ember In The Ashes #2).

What’s a series you’d recommend to everyone?

You have to ask?

HARRY_POTTER_EYE_ROLL.gif

Image Source

Who’s an author you’re hoping writes more?

13_minutes_cover

I recently finished reading 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough and it was PEAK creepy. I’d love her to write more YA.

A few books your heart adores?

georges_marvellous_medicine

Only a few? What a cruel world. I won’t even mention Harry Potter here, because OBVS, my little mandrakes. But I adore George’s Marvellous Medicine by Roald Dahl, Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman and His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman. A far as I’m concered, they’re all utterly timeless.

What series’ coming conclusion makes you sad?

Hmm. I’m not actually mid-way through any series at the moment, although I’ve just started The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater, and I know that the conclusion to the series has hit many a blogger right in the feels. I’m sure I’ll feel that pain when I get there, too.

What books are on your wish-list?

ALL.

michael_fassbender_grabby_hands.gif

Image Source


Tag, tag, tag:

No pressure, as always! 🙂

wordpress-sign-off

55 thoughts on “Book Tags | The Bookish Booklover Tag

  1. AHHHHH! Thank you so much for tagging me in this! It looks like so much fun, and I can’t wait to start 🙂 I especially love the answer to your last question… *grabby hands*. I have to recommend “A Boy in Striped Pajamas” or “A Northern Light” for two historical YA books. They’re both slower paced, but I’m sure you’ll enjoy 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • No problem! 🙂 I hope you enjoy doing it! Hahaha, yes I love that GIF – it is basically appropriate whenever I’m talking about books. Thank you for the recs – I’ve never read either of those, but I’ll defo add them to my list. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay thanks so much for tagging me! The questions are really interesting! 🙂 I liked Laini Taylor’s writing but sadly, I couldn’t say the same for the plot of Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Hope you still love reading it though! Oh, and I love the blue cover (the one with the masked girl) even more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • My pleasure! 🙂 Oh really? That’s interesting! If you’re doing a review/have done a review I’d love to read it. 🙂 Thanks! I haven’t seen that cover, I think this is the UK/Aus one! I’ll have to hunt that down and have a look. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m not sure if I’m writing one, since it has been years since I’ve read it. I’ll probably need to re-read it, but I’m kind of not in the mood right now, hahah. But if I get around to it, I’ll let you know for sure 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for the tag! 🙂 This one seems like a really fun one, and, well, a great way to get more book recommendations as well!
    Obviously the Chaos Walking series is on my to-read list, I really want to get around to it soon and I a so excited for it (even more so now I know the last book is one of your favourites). Also I really need to read The Next Together soon, it sounds like the kind of book I’d love! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • My pleasure! 🙂 It was a fun one, but then again I love all tags so perhaps I’m not the best judge haha. I think that’s the best thing about them tbh – I get so many recs from reading other people’s tags and awards. 🙂 Yesssssss you have to read Chaos Walking, they absolutely blew me away! The Next Together is also really good – one of those books that you’re bound to eat up in a day if you have some spare time. 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I’m the same I love all tags pretty much, and yeah my TBR list has grown so much from seeing other people answers to these tags, and hopefully mine have done the same thing as well! 🙂
        It’s definitely near the top of my to-read list, it’s been on there for a while now but my aim is to get around to the series at some point this year! Same with The Next Together actually! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. When was your birthday and what do you mean by “a while” when you say you haven’t bought a book in a while? I am currently celebrating my birthmonth and have bought several books already. haha. It’s been marvelous. I will do a book haul post at the end of the month to show them all off. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha my birthday was at the beginning of the month! I haven’t bought any since the end of May (I KNOW WHAT’S WRONG WITH ME?!) But part of my plan for tomorrow is to head to Waterstones and see what takes my fancy hahaha. Yay that’s exciting! I shall look forward to seeing what you’ve been reading. 🙂

      Like

  5. I love this concept! Great post.

    In terms of good historical YA, I have a couple I would recommend.
    Devil’s Arithmetic by Jane Yolen is about the Holocaust and beautifully written.
    Sphinx’s Princess (Nefertiti) and Nobody’s Princess (Helen of Troy) by Esther M Friesner
    Duchessina, a Novel of Catherine de Medici by Caroline Meyer

    Some I read a while ago so I can’t completely vouch for them now, but enjoyed them at the time. Both are about Renaissance Italy.
    Daughter of Venice by Donna Jo Napoli
    Dante’s Daughter by Kimberly Heusten

    I hope this helps! Not that you need more on your TBR X)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! You definitely should. 😊 Let me know if you do it – I’d love to see your answers especially because you have the same name as me haha! 😂 You just save them to your computer from whatever website and then add them into the body of the post like a normal image. 😊 xx

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Have you read The Book Thief by Markus Zusak? I’m not sure if you could accurately refer to it as historical YA, but it is an interesting book taking place in 1939 Germany.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

