Blog Awards | The Book Fangirling Award

 

Happy Tuesday, book friends! One step closer to that elusive two day break that we call the weekend.

book-fangirling-award.png

I’ve seen this award floating across the blogosphere since I started writing on WordPress, and it’s one of my favourites because I’m SUCH a fangirl. I am 24 going on 14 and I’m totally okay with it.

A big, fat thank you to Beth at Reading Every Night for nominating me! You can check out her answers by clicking on that little link up there. Beth is one of my favourite bloggers, and her blog is absolutely gorgeous. Please head over there and check her out, if you don’t already follow her. 🙂

Rules

  • Create a post to accept your award.
  • Answer the questions I have at the end.
  • Nominate between 5-10 book bloggers who you think also deserve this award.
  • Come up with your own 5 questions for your nominees.

Beth’s Questions:

The three main characters from the last three books you read are your partners in the zombie apocalypse. Who are they and do you think you’d survive the outbreak?

This is legit one of the best questions I’ve come across in tags and awards! I LOVE this. The last three books I finished were The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield and 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough. Hmm. Not necessarily the heroes I’d like by my side in the event of a zombie apocalypse, but I do have a couple of sociopaths to choose from which could come in handy…

The Raven Boys

the-raven-boys-cover

I think I’d go with Ronan from The Raven Boys here. Not only has he got a pretty handy right hook, but he’s also calculating and brave. I think, considering the quality of my rag tag band of book characters come zombie fighting team, he’d have to be the one to throw the punches.

Paper Butterflies

paper_butterflies

This is harder, because this book doesn’t feature any typical ‘hero’ types and I definitely would not want the villain anywhere near me, even in the event of an apocalypse. I think I’d have to go with Blister here. He’s not a physical character, and he doesn’t have any special powers, but he has a pretty sharp, analytical brain. I reckon he’d be the one to come up with a cunning plan to get us out of danger, and try to keep the group calm and united.

13 Minutes

13_minutes_cover

The main character in 13 Minutes, Becca, is pretty brave and has some serious nerve. However, I’m inclined to think that a bonafide sociopath might come in handy in a life or death situation, so I’m going to go with Natasha.

Based on the people I’ve got, I’m not convinced we would survive. I’m also pretty certain that each of these characters would hate each other, so I don’t rate the chances of them trying to kill each other before the zombies get to us.

If you could take one thing, be it a place, an event, a character, an object, out of any book and make it real what would you pick?

hogwarts-is-my-home.gif

I think this GIF accurately sums up my feeling here.

The world is ending and you have just enough time to read one book, what would you choose and why?

hp-philosophers-stone

Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. I understand that I’m becoming quite a predictable human here, but there’s no book that I’d rather spend my last few hours on earth with.

What is one thing you wish there was more of in the world?

Easy answer: Love. You only have to look at the news every day, no matter where you live in the world, to know that we could all do with a little bit more love and a little less hate and fear.

If you could have any superpower what would you choose, and what would be your origin story? (I already have one for my rise to super villain status one day).

Omg Beth, these questions are killing me!

I don’t think I’d want any of the traditional super powers like invisibility, mind reading or time travelling, because there’s so much potential for harm to yourself and others with those. I think I’d like to have a creative super power, like Clary’s ability to draw new runes in The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.

clary-rune-gif.gif

Image Source

I have absolutely NO idea what my origin story would be, but I imagine it would probably involve me doing something catastrophically stupid. I’m great at giving advice, but inversely horrible at following it. Either that, or I’d discover my power injuring myself. #ClumsyPeopleProblems


My Questions:

Beth has basically ruined everything here, because how am I ever going to follow the awesomeness of those questions?! Let’s give it a go…

  • Take the last four main characters from the last four books that you read and create two new OTPs/couples! Who would end up with who, and why? Also, who do you ship the most?!
  • If you could try any food described in any book, what would it be?
  • What was the last book that you gave five stars to, and why?
  • Willy Wonka, Professor Snape and Katniss Everdeen walk into your bar (start of the world’s greatest joke, right?) What drink would you make for each of them, and why?
  • What’s your favourite fandom, and why?

And The Nominations…:

No pressure, as always! 🙂

PS. I’m sorry to anyone who may have commented on this post, my WordPress had a bit of a melt down the other day and published it before it was supposed to. I would never ignore ya!

wordpress-sign-off

30 thoughts on “Blog Awards | The Book Fangirling Award

  1. What awesome questions! Thanks so much for the nomination! I’ve done this award already (and I’m SUPER behind on tags), so I’m going to sit this out. However, I NEED to answer your bar question because I LOVE IT. Best question ever:
    Willy Wonka: I’d serve him Vegas Bombs, because I think he’d really enjoy it (the fruity kind, not the butterscotch kind)
    Professor Snape: Natty light. He deserves to drink piss.
    Katniss Everdeen: Whisky on the rocks. She deserves a real drink.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really loved your answers. Sorry for the tough questions though! 😀
    I agree Ronan would be great in the zombie apocalypse, the psycopaths could be a good choice but I’d worry they’d decide it’s better to leave me for dead to save themselves (Also I never thought of that, I’ve only read 13 Minutes and The Raven Boys but I cannot see Natasha and Ronan getting on well at all!)
    I imagine a lot of people would say Harry Potter as the last book they’d read, it’s a classic after all isn’t it!
    And I love your potential superpower, and honestly your origin story would be very similar to mine as well, I am a horribly clumsy person! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That second last question of yours has me laughing. I’d give Wonka a chocolate milkshake, because he still has teeth left; I’d give Snape something with a laxative, because I’m scared of him and I want to get the hell out of there; lastly, I’d give Everdeen a Coke, because she has never had one and Coke is the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think of all the questions I’ve had to think off for posts like this these ones are my favourite, just because they do make you think!
    Not a good thing in the zombie apocalypse is it, having your team mates try to kill each other 😀
    I’m the same, HP is a series I always go back to and probably always will.
    If we ever get powers that’ll likely be the way it happens, our own clumsy-ness! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

