If Books Were Cocktails

Because books are fun and so are cocktails.

lindsey_lohan_cocktail.gif

Image Source

Covers from Goodreads, lovely cocktail recipes from Social and Cocktail. Drink responsibly, chaps!

The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood: Sea Breeze

the-square-root-of-summer-macmillan

The Square Root of Summer is one of the most evocative books I’ve read this year, it basically drips small town summer from every page. A Sea Breeze is the ultimate in summer cocktails: refreshing, fruity and sweet.

Charlie and The Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl: White Russian

charlie_and_the_chocolate_factory.jpg

Coffee liqueur, chocolate, cream and milk…it’s like all of Augustus Gloop’s dreams in a glass.

Divergent by Veronica Roth: Long Island Iced Tea

divergent_cover

Basically pure alcohol, this is a drink for the brave or the stupid. Definitely one for the Dauntless recruits.

Paper Princess by Erin Watt: Woo Woo

paper_princess_cover

My go-to drink whenever for a fun, slightly drunken night on the town (not that I have many of those anymore…#oldladyproblems) this is perfectly matched to Paper Princess; a sassy, saucy, easy to digest read full of escapism.

Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling: Black Russian

harry_potter_and_the_half_blood_prince.jpg

Dark, deceptively strong and straight to the point: Just like everyone’s favourite Potions Master.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes: Ramos Gin Fizz

me-before-you

A bizarre mix of ingredients that really shouldn’t go together, but kinda work. Just like Lou and her bumblebee tights! Also gin is bound to make me cry, and/or leave me with a serious hangover, so that’s accurate.

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson: Tequila Sunrise

ill_give_you_the_sun.jpg

I’ll Give You The Sun screams beaches, summer and glorious sunrises. If a Tequila Sunrise isn’t the colour of summer then I don’t know what is. It’s also a little bit sweet and a little bit bitter, just like Jude and Noah’s relationship through the book.

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare: Midori Sour

city of bones cover

About the most garish cocktail you could get, thanks to the Midori. A little bit sweet, a little bit sour and 100% fruity; it’s definitely one for the Magnus Bane in your life. Also you’d just look so colour coordinated with a Midori Sour in one hand and CoB in the other, and I am a sucker for colour coordination.

So cheers to books and alcohol, the building blocks of survival.

gatsby-champagne

Gimme them cocktail/book recs in the comments! Extra points for anything that comes with an umbrella. wordpress-sign-off

36 thoughts on “If Books Were Cocktails

  1. I really loved this post, I feel I should definitely try some of these cocktails now though, and when I drink them I will definitely be thinking of these books as well! 😀
    My friend always drinks Long Island Ice Tea. I’ve had a sip or two and honestly I agree it definitely fits with the Dauntless faction from Divergent; something for the brave or stupid! It’s way too much alcohol for me 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some awesome books on here! Wish the sequels to City of Bones had been as good, I really enjoyed that one but the rest of the series…I quit in the middle of the third book. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

