The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

Hey chums, it’s Friday!

I haven’t done a tag for a little while, so I’m stoked that Emily @ RoseRead and Beth @ Reading Every Night deemed fit to nominate me for this one! Emily and Beth are two of my favourite bloggers, and they both put out incredible amounts of brilliant content. Please do check out their answers and show them some bookish love for me!

This tag was created by Chami @ ReadLikeWildFire and Ely @ Ely Jayne. It’s where we look back at (and freak out over) the books we’ve read during the past six months.


Best Book You’ve Read in 2016

Yeah, I cheated.

Best Sequel You’ve Read in 2016

the-ask-and-the-answer-cover

I haven’t actually read many sequels this year, so this was a hard one! I could talk all day about how much I idolise Patrick Ness and The Chaos Walking trilogy, but I think The Ask and The Answer is a great example of using a sequel to build depth and propel your plot forward with out seeming like a stepping stone. Middle books in a trilogy are hard to write, and this one is definitely all killer and no filler.

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To

Plus about eleventy billion more, as well as the books that were released last year and the year before, and the year before that…you get the picture!

Most Anticipated Book For The Second Half of the Year

harry_potter_and_the_cursed_child_special_rehearsal_edition_book_cover

Yup, I am a walking, talking (typing) cliche, but do I care? No, I do not. GIVE ME THE POTTER.

Biggest Disappointment

the-wrath-and-the-dawn-cover

GASP, what a surprise, right? Said no one ever. I know a lot of you love this book, but I just don’t get it. Check out my review to find out why right here.

Biggest Surprise

I'm_Thinking_Of_Ending_Things_Cover.jpg

This came totally out of left field and messed with my head SO bad. I still can’t say I’ve figured it out, but that’s the beauty of it.

Favourite New Author

My favourite new author has to be Lisa Heathfield. I read both Seed and her new release, Paper Butterflies last month and I really rated both of them. She writes with a huge amount of honesty and I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next. Definitely one to watch!

Newest Fictional Crush

lady-midnight-cover

It can only be Julian Blackthorn. Say what you like about Cassandra Clare and her plan for world domination and never-ending Shadowhunter world add-ons, but boy does that woman write male leads to lust over.

Newest Favourite Character

My favourite new character would probably have to be Lottie from Am I Normal Yet? and How Hard Can Love Be by Holly Bourne. I have a total girl crush on her: she’s clever, funny and totally owns being herself. I wish I had that much conviction when I was sixteen. I can’t wait to read from her point of view in the conclusion to the Spinster Club trilogy, What’s A Girl Gotta Do?

Book That Made You Cry

monsters-of-men-cover

Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness really hit me right in the feels. It’s such a intense, courageous trilogy and in the final few pages my emotions got the better of me and I weeped like Moaning Myrtle, only with less self-pity. Okay maybe with as much self-pity, but we won’t go there.

Book That Made You Happy

paper_princess_cover

I haven’t actually read many happy books this year, and although I’m always happy when I stumble upon a brilliant read, I usually finish them with an almighty book hangover/weeping/feeling generally sorry for myself. Paper Princess was a fun exception to the rule: pure, unadulterated escapism.

Note: I probably would have answered this question with Am I Normal Yet? because it’s GODDAMN AMAZING but in the interest of not being a completely boring and predictable person, I chose something else.

Favourite Book to Film Adaption

I am a terrible blogger because I don’t think I’ve actually seen any this year. I know, what is this evil sorcery?! My excuse is that I’m saving my money for A Monster Calls, The BFG, and most importantly, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.  Oh and I did see the stage version of The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night Time by Mark Haddon which was a-mazing. 

Favourite Post You’ve Done This Year So Far

five-reasons-why-reading-is-the-best-hobby-ever-header

I think my favourite post to write was either 5 Reasons that Prove Reading is the Best Hobby Ever, or You Know You’re A Book Blogger When…

I always find list posts really fun to write, and I adore hearing your thoughts! I’d love to write more discussion posts and little lists soon, I’ve been crazy busy recently so I haven’t had as much time to be creative as I’d like.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

illuminae-cover

It’s just kind of a masterpiece, isn’t it?

What Book Do You Need To Read By The End Of The Year?

ALL OF THE BOOKS. I’ve chosen four that I’m desperate to read by the end of the year, because otherwise I’d have to hunt down all 192 books on my Goodreads TBR and ain’t nobody got time for that.

I tag:

Sorry if any of you have already been tagged, I know this one has been spreading like wildfire amongst book bloggers over the last couple of weeks!

wordpress-sign-off

39 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

  1. Thank you so much for the tag! Love your answers. I plan on reading some of the books you’ve mentioned, especially The Dream Thieves. I’ve already been tagged to do this post but maybe I’ll do it again. πŸ™‚ Again, thanks for including me, hun! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this ❀ And yes, that's definitely one book there in the first answer. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise! πŸ˜‰ I keep hearing great things about I’ll Give You The Sun. I downloaded the audiobook from the Sync summer program a couple of weeks ago and the audio quality’s a little crappy but I think I should give it a go anyways if it’s that good! πŸ™‚ Thank you for tagging me! ❀ I've done this one 3 days ago, though, so I’m going to pass on it this time ;). I lolled when I read it’s spreading like wildfire because it IS, but it’s funny as well xD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so with you on The Wrath and the Dawn. I’ve only read 60 pages but I’ve had to put it down. At first I was thinking maybe I’m just not in the mood for it right now? But I’ve seen quite a few negative reviews since that make me feel better for not enjoying those 60 pages. I’ll still pick it up I think.. but only to see if it gets better. Then again, if it doesn’t, I do love writing a negative review! Great post by the way ^_^

    Like

    • Haha! Welcome to the club! I managed to finish it (I think mainly because I was on holiday and had plenty of time) but I kept waiting for it to get better and it kinda never did…! You may well find that it redeems itself though, you never know. πŸ™‚ If not, you know where to come to chat about it haha! Rant reviews are always so much fun to write, I totally agree. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for you comment and sorry it’s taken me ages to reply, for some reason it went into my spam! x

      Like

      • I think that’s definitely the way to do it – I get distracted really easily if I’m not enjoying something! I really hope it does redeem itself when I eventually pick it back up but I won’t hold my breath haha. Yes I do! Ah that’s alright, don’t worry!! x

        Liked by 1 person

  4. That Am I Normal Yet cover is really piquing my interest, and since you love the series do much, I’m going to add this to Goodreads. I bought Half Bad and still need to read it. I’ve been hoarding Kindle books the past six months. πŸ™ˆ I need a program. Lol. I have shelf control issues except now their virtual shelves. πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! They’re really very good – I loved the way that she makes feminism into a normal thing instead of some taboo subject or a dirty word. The commentary about mental health is also very on point. πŸ™‚ Hahahaha! Hoarding without the breaking shelves is a winner. I started Half Bad last night and I’m enjoying it so far – it’s pretty dark! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I loved reading your answers for this tag! I’ll Give You the Sun is already an ultimate favourite of mine as well, it was just such a beautiful story and it was so wonderfully written as well. Obviously I feel everyone is aware I need to read the Chaos Walking series (I caved and finally ordered the books from Amazon today!) but all the amazing things I’ve seen have just made me more and more excited.
    I’m actually really intrigued by Holly Bourne’s books, I’ve been seeing them around a fair bit recently and as she’s going to be at YALC I may pick up some to see what I think of her writing, maybe I’ll start with Am I Normal Yet? πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Totally agree! An instant classic for me. πŸ™‚ Haha YAY that’s awesome news, I hope you love them as much as I did! Yes – Am I Normal Yet? is absolutely brilliant. Mental health, feminism and humour. I read it about two weeks ago and went out and bought the second in the series straight away. One of the few books I have read recently that I do think is worth the hype. πŸ™‚ Are you going to YALC on the Saturday?

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It is so funny that you tagged me in this because I have been working on my Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag and had nominated YOU! Thank you so much for the nomination! You will be seeing mine sooner than you think πŸ™‚
    1) It needs to be July 31st already. I’m over this wait!
    2) I’ve been very hesitant to pick up The Wrath & the Dawn because of all the mixed reviews…
    3) I need to take my son to go see The BFG… I even made a deal with him that I’d take him to the theatre if he read the book ((bribery to get him to read)) and he actually read it.
    4) I remembered when you posted 5 Reasons Why Reading is the Best Hobby Ever! It is brilliant!
    5) I received my copy of Illuminae today and I 100% agree it is the most epic cover ever. So interesting!
    6) I REALLY enjoyed The Dream Thieves!!! It’s mostly about Ronan who is my favorite character πŸ™‚ I’m on #3 right now and still loving this series!

    Like

    • Hahaha that’s amazing! Great minds think alike! 😁 No worries – I can’t wait to see your answers. 😊 RIGHT?! I actually saw Cursed Child last month and it was incredible – I can’t wait for the script to come out so I can talk to people about the story without ruining it for anyone lol! Aw that’s amazing, and such a good parenting hack haha! Did he enjoy it? Thank you so much. 😊 It’s gorgeous isn’t it? I haven’t actually read it yet but I’m so interested, so many people love it as well so I hope it lives up to the hype. Fingers crossed! Ahhhh you read it! That’s awesome – I haven’t bought it yet because every time I go into my local bookshop/library it isn’t there 😦 hoping I’ll spy a copy of it soon but I have a huge TBR to get through first (no surprise there πŸ˜‚) haha. X

      Liked by 1 person

    • It really was amazing (not to rub it in at all!) Do you think you’ll be able to make it over to rainy old Blighty to give it a watch? Ahhh that’s great! πŸ™‚ George’s Marvellous Medicine was always my favourite when I was a kid. I know right?! What is this trickery. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hiiiighly recommend And I Darken! I just reviewed it on my blog and I absolutely, absolutely loved it – just so dark and intense and violent, which is great for historical fiction.

    Also eep, I haven’t read Illuminae yet. I kind of missed that bandwagon and suddenly just lost interest, haha. I’ve flicked through it a couple of times in the library, though, and the epistolary format does look very interesting. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay that’s good to hear! That all sounds absolutely up my street. 😁 I haven’t read a really good historical YA book for ages (if ever) so I’m certainly looking forward to it. 😊 I haven’t actually read it yet for the same reasons haha! But like you I do pick it up and kinda marvel at how cool it is!

      Like

  8. Completely love your answers here and thank you so much for the tag!! I’ll do this one as soon as I get my butt into gear (I’ve been going on book-buying trips nonstop for a week to get at least a quarter of the 222 books on my Goodreads’ TBR list, it needs to be decreased, even by a minuscule!) πŸ˜‚

    Also, that Iain Reid book looks super interesting! Is it good or bad? As for And I Darken and Cursed Child, I’m super stoked for them. I haven’t read a proper novel with an actual psychotic heroine since ever, and Harry Potter still holds a great deal of sway over my feels (like many other Potterheads ☺).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! ❀ My pleasure! Haha oh my god that sounds like a dream shopping trip right now. I hope you get some good'uns and don't worry about how long it takes you to do the tag. πŸ™‚ It was really good! It completely messed with my head, but if you like books that make your skin crawl a little bit then it's a good read. Confusing, but good. That's exactly what I'm looking forward to about And I Darken, as well as the unusual historical setting! Haha, for sure! Always! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. […] This lovely tag is brought to you by THREE fellow book bloggers who took the time to tag me in this awesome book tag!Β  The first is the lovelyΒ Margot @Lectito.Β  If you don’t follow her, you are really missing out!Β  She is brilliant!Β  You can read her tag here β†’ Lectito: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag.Β  The second fabulous blogger isΒ Casey @AdoptaBookAUS.Β  Another wonderful blogger who never ceases to entertain me.Β  You can read her post here β†’ AdoptaBookAUS: Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag.Β  Last, but certainly not least we have Sammie @Bookshelves & Biros.Β Β  Who actually tagged me as I was working on this post and was trying to tag HER in mine.Β  She beat me to it!Β  You can read her post here β†’ Bookshelves & Biros: The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag. […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

