The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

Thanks so much to Jill at Rant and Rave About Books for tagging me! Jill’s blog is one of my favourites – she puts out tonnes of amazing content every single week. You can check out her answers and have a nosey around her blog right here.

How long have you been a blogger?

I started this blog in February 2016, so I’ve only been blogging about books for just under six months. I’ve always loved to write though, and have had a few private blogs here and there over the last few years.

At what point do you think you will stop?

Hopefully never! Life may get in the way at some point, but for as long as I can do it I will do it. Blogging and interacting with you lovely lot helps keep me on an even keel, and always gives me something to focus on when I feel down or restless or creative. I love it.

What is the best part?

There are so many brilliant things about blogging, but the book blogging community really is incredible. I’ve said it so many times, but everyone is so welcoming, so kind and so encouraging. Reading other people’s posts, creating discussion through your own and having people to geek out with about fandoms, OTPs and Harry Potter is the coolest thing.

What is the worst part?

I wouldn’t say there are any real negative or bad things about blogging, but it can sometimes be really difficult to keep on top of your blog when you have real life stuff going on day-to-day. I try to be as organised as possible, but sometimes stuff just gets in the way and you get behind on ARCS, commenting on other people’s blogs, writing and replying to comments on your own posts. I always feel a bit guilty when that happens, but like with everything, you gotta find a balance that works for you.

How long does it take you to find/create pictures to use?

Oh this takes me AGES. Mainly because my laptop is so, so slow and my internet at home isn’t that brilliant. It takes me an especially long time to create headers for posts because Canva tends to crash my laptop, which is y’know, awesome.

Who’s your book crush?

Book crush as in a book character, or as in an author? Or perhaps an actual book? PANIC. I don’t know what the right answer is here, so you get three bonus ones instead:

  • Current book crush: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
  • Current fictional crush: Rhysand errrrrrrrryday
  • Current author crush: Holly Bourne (not only are her books amazing, but I met her at YALC on Saturday and she is incredibly nice.)

What author would you like to have on your blog?

All of them? This is such a difficult question to answer because I’d want different authors on my blog for different reasons. If I had to choose one it would obviously be Queen J.K. Rowling because DUH, but I’d also love to interview Patrick Ness, Malorie Blackman, Holly Bourne, Sarah J. Maas and Lisa Heathfield, as well as Philip Pullman. What can I say? I’m greedy.

What do you wear when you write your blog?

I write in whatever is comfortable, which usually ends up being slouchy clothes or pyjamas.

How long does it take you to prepare a post?

It really does depend on what I’m writing, how busy I am and what sort of mood I’m in. It can sometimes take me three or four days to write, edit and prepare a post to publish, but I can sometimes bash one out in a couple of hours if I’m in the ‘zone’. Reviews usually take me very little time to write, but ages to edit because I go back and tweak them endlessly before I’m happy. Tags and features seem to take me slightly less time, although I can get held up looking for the right GIFs and images.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

I’ve already covered this a little bit, but I adore the book blogger community. Everyone is super friendly, open, welcoming, chatty and encouraging. It’s the best and most appreciative blogging culture that I’ve come across, and one that I’m very happy to be a part of.

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

I don’t know how qualified I am to comment on this, because my blog is still a baby and although I’m happy with the progress I’m making, I don’t know if it could be classed as ‘successful’ yet.

I think it’s really important to find a style and tone that works for you. Personality is really key in making a blog successful, because you are essentially your blog’s unique selling point. I also echo Jill in that it’s really important to involve yourself in the wider community. Getting involved in discussions or live chats on Twitter or Goodreads and leaving thoughtful comments on people’s posts can be the key to building a readership and finding a place in the book blogosphere. I’ve found so many incredible blogs and bloggers through checking out the comments on people’s posts and bloggers that people have nominated to take part in awards or tags.

The other thing that I would say is to find some sort of schedule that works for you (mine is aptly called organised chaos) when it comes to blogging, so that you can cover your blog with scheduled posts when real life gets busy, or work out when you might want to post special discussions or features to coincide with book releases or news, for example. Posting regularly also helps to build an audience, so I guess there’s that too. 🙂


Tell me about all your secret book blogging life:

Enjoy, loves!

wordpress-sign-off

36 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

  1. I had been slowly starting to fall into a nice schedule, but life got in the way and I am now forced to change it completely. But sticking with some memes and groups allow me to have dedicated days, Wednesdays are WWW, Fridays are Hype or Like Group, so I am sure to have posts coming even when I’m behind on reviews. It sure helps your readers find a connection with you when you post regularly and comment as much as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I find that happens to me as well! I hope everything is okay your side. 🙂 Yeah that’s the brilliant thing about social media and tags/memes, they help you to stay connected when you don’t always have the time or energy to blog. 🙂 Absolutely! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much for the tag Sammie but I have actually done this one before; https://readingeverynight.wordpress.com/2016/03/24/the-secret-life-of-a-book-blogger/. Normally I’d do it again if I’d been tagged again but for this one I think my answers would be the same the second time around as they were the first.
    Still I loved reading your answers. I completely agree with you when you say the book blogging community is one of the best things. I love talking to people so much through WordPress. Also Rhysand is definitely my fictional crush as well, why can’t I meet someone like him in real life?!
    Once again thanks for the tag! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome answers, Sammie! I love your blogging advice. You’re so right about finding your own personality and voice because that’s what’s going to attract a following. If I don’t see that when I look at a blog, it’s a turnoff for me when I’m considering following. For me, my rants have been something that’s helped draw attention to my blog. And that’s just me being me. 😂 Haha! Complainer extraordinaire! 🙂 The people are most definitely the best part of blogging. If all I did was write posts and didn’t have all of you lovely people to talk to, I wouldn’t have blogged this long. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 🙂 Absolutely – I love the different tones and voices that come from reading other people’s blogs. It makes them interesting to read and they can be a huge source of inspiration, too. Hahaha that’s the best – when you can just be yourself and attract a huge following! They are amazing though so I can’t say I’m surprised. You keep complaining! 😀 I feel exactly the same. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for the tag!! I’ll try to get to this ASAP. *is behind on all her tags* 😂
    I love your answers, especially about the book blogging community. It really is an amazing community. Also Rhys is my current fictional crush too! 🙈♥

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for the tag Sammie! Totally agree with your entire answer to the book crush question! Love that Harry gif too haha. And I’m 100% with you on the guilt of getting behind – I just caught up with my blog comments from over a week ago and I felt so, so bad. Real life is such a nuisance! Really enjoyed reading your answers 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pleasure, Jess! 🙂 Haha that HP gif is one of my faves. Never gets old. I always tell other bloggers to not feel bad (because no one should) but then I don’t heed that advice myself haha! Typical blogger guilt. It really can be! Why can’t we just blog all day?! Thank you – can’t wait to see yours. 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, same – I never take my own advice. I don’t know why I put so much pressure on myself, because this is all supposed to be fun 😛 I’ve definitely got blogger guilt at the moment because it seems like I’m only capable of posting about once every 10 days! It would be amazing to be able to blog full time 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Tell me about it! 🙂 Exactly – I’m so bad at taking my own advice and I feel so guilty that I haven’t posted much so far this month. It’s peaks and troughs though, I think everyone knows and appreciates that everyone has real life stuff going on outside of blogging. 🙂 It happens! Never feel guilty! x

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Please never stop! I love visiting your blog, and reading your content 🙂 I can relate to so many of your answers, and it’s unbelievable the great improvements you’ve made in six months!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, no! I’m sorry you have a hard time with creating images and graphics. It takes me a long time to write up any blog posts, but I try not to think about how fast other people are producing content or I’d get insecure. I like how you approach writing longer posts, taking your time over a few days to edit and perfect (to your satisfaction). Writing blog posts ahead is very important for my sanity. If I didn’t always have 5 or 6 written and scheduled, I’d start getting anxious. But I’ve learned to be disciplined enough to always write one or two over the weekend.

    I also agree with you on the “worst part” of blogging, though it’s not as bad as it could be. I love reading your blog and other people’s but we all know how time consuming it is. It’s so important to dedicate some time to visiting other people when you can find the time and you’re so great at that, Sammie. That’s exactly why you have enjoyed the success you currently have. Your blog is doing very well in the short time it’s been around. I’m glad to see other blogging newbies working hard and being rewarded. 🙂

    As I said on Twitter, I’m going to tag myself and do this tag for when I can’t think of anything else to write. Not that it isn’t a good tag, lol, it’s really fun and I am very picky with tags as I’m sure you know. Thanks for sharing more of the blogger behind the blog! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just wish I had the time/money to invest in learning more photoshop or illustrator! Yeah I totally get what you mean – it’s so different for everyone and it’s way too easy to start making comparisons and feeling inadequate! Oh my God that is uber organised! I usually have one or maybe two scheduled when I know I have a busy week or weekend coming up but that is very impressive. 😊👌 Absolutely. It’s really hard to keep up with sometimes! Thank you so much, that’s really lovely to hear. 😊 Haha yes – I like to think of us as the class of early 2016 haha. It’s nice to see how everyone is doing. I do indeed, but I hope you enjoy writing this one up! My pleasure. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

