Beauty and The Beast Tag

Thank you to lovely Amanda at Cover2CoverMom for tagging me in this cute Disney inspired tag! It’s only taken me two months to get around to doing it… 

Please head over and have a look at all of her answers by clicking here!

Rules:

  • Thank the person who tagged you
  • Mention the creator → Kirsty @Kirsty and the Cat Read
  • Match a book to each of the songs/characters below
  • Tag as many people as you like

“Tale As Old As Time” – A popular theme, trope or setting you will never get bored of reading.

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-cover

Ob-vious-ly. You read that in Snape’s voice, didn’t ya?


Belle – A book your brought for it’s beautiful cover that’s just as beautiful inside too.

The Next Together by Lauren James

the-next-together-cover

I guess I actually cover rented this, as I got it from my local library (library love forever) instead of actually buying it. Not going to lie when I say that the cover was a pretty big factor though, because LOOK AT IT. Thankfully, the time travel plot and sweet romance was just as good as the cover promised. 

You can check out my review here.


Beast – A book you didn’t expect much from but pleasantly surprised you

13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

13_minutes)uk

I went through a patch of struggling to find any good young adult thriller or crime novels, so when I spotted this on NetGalley I requested it but refused to get my hopes up. Such an optimist, me. Despite my low expectations, this twisty little book blew me away. It had everything I look for in a good thriller, and it kept me on my toes with every new revelation. You can find out exactly why in my review.


Gaston – A book everyone loves that you don’t

Divergent (The Divergent Series #1) by Veronica Roth

 divergent_cover

I feel like Veronica Roth wrote Divergent as if she knew it was going to be made into a film. It’s just so…formulaic. I never felt connected to any of the characters, who seemed a bit like The Hunger Games cast offs to me. I don’t hate it, but I do think there are tons of dystopia books that are far superior in terms of originality and world building.


Lefou – A loyal sidekick you can’t help but love more than their counterpart

Lucien | A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

acourtofthornandroses

I’m not a Tamlin fan. I wasn’t overly keen on him in A Court of Thorns and Roses, and I definitely became substantially less keen once I started reading A Court of Mist and Fury. Lucien could do with standing up to the golden High Lord a little more than he does (*cough* grow a pair *cough*) but at least he has a sense of humour. Plus he is super sassy and I do love a sassy man.

Psssst: You can have a look at my review here!


Mrs Potts, Chip, Lumier & Cogsworth – A book that helped you through a difficult time or that taught you something valuable

Am I Normal Yet? (Normal #1) by Holly Bourne

am_i_normal_yet

Hmm. I can’t say Harry Potter again, can I? No? Okay, fine. In that case, I’m going to go with a book that I only read a couple of months ago, but really picked me up when I was feeling a little bit low. Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne is a funny, touching, wonderful, feminist ode to friendship, growing up and tackling mental health. Read it.


“Something There” – A book or a series that you weren’t into at first but picked up towards the end

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness

the-knife-of-never-letting-go

Despite my unending adoration for the one and only Patrick Ness, I actually really struggled to get into The Knife of Never Letting Go until I hit the 200 page mark. I struggled to get my head around the characters being able to hear each other’s thoughts in one big, messy blast of noise and the writing was so totally different to anything I’d read for so long. Once it clicked, I couldn’t put it down. You can find out more about why I loved it here.


Be my guest:

No pressure, as always!

wordpress-sign-off

37 thoughts on “Beauty and The Beast Tag

  1. Yay! Loved your answers as always!

    The Next Together cover is on point! I may have to look into it. I remember when you wrote your review, but this just reminded me that I need to add it to the TBR.

    Thanks for playing 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you! 🙂 Sorry it took me a little while to get around to it haha! It’s gorgeous right? It sucks when books don’t live up to their covers but I thought this one was a pretty good read. 🙂 I hope you enjoy it if/when you give it a read – love to hear what you think as always! Pleasure! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Divergent felt like The Giver set in a different world. I completely agree with you. I couldn’t connect with the characters. The only one I liked was Four and that wasn’t until I read his novella with those short stories about his childhood. He was the only character that had any depth for me, but that wasn’t until later on. I wrote a rant about the awfulness that is Divergent. 😂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Haha, I knew that you would agree with me on the Divergent front. 😉 It’s sad that she couldn’t get the character depth into the actual series and that the extra information and connection had to come from a short story. Hahaha yes I remember reading it – it’s one of my all time favourite blog posts from anyone! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aww thank you! 😊 Divergent had the potential to be a good series. It’s a shame. Did you hear about what they’re doing with the last movie? I’m so glad I’m not a fan. 😂 And I doubt I’ll read the next book from Roth unless it’s free, and even then, I’m still a little hesitant.

        Liked by 1 person

      • No worries! It made me crack up, honestly. I think it did too – I really liked the idea of the factions and being able to stay or choose another but the characterisation (or lack thereof) did it for me. Omg aren’t they sending it to a TV movie?! Haha! I’m intrigued, but I think I’ll wait for a few trusted reviews before I part with my cash…!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah, I love Lucien! At first I did not particularly like it but by the second book things have changed!
    Thank you for a tag! Can’t wait to do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my god! I love this tag!
    And also … me too with Divergent! Like literal exact same thoughts!!!!! I really didn’t like it at all. And, like you, I felt like it was so similar to The Hunger Games …. but The Hunger Games was better. Have you read The Uglies/Pretties series?? I liked that much more than Divergent, and I wish they’d make it into a movie! Also, I copied down 13 Minutes and Am I Normal Yet! They look really interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s cute right? 🙂 Yay! I loved The Hunger Games, but I read Divergent not long after and just felt like it was poor substitute. 😦 I haven’t! Are they good? Ahh that’s exciting – I hope you like them both! I’d love to hear what you think if/when you read them! 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      • I really, really liked the Uglies quadrilogy. In fact, I loved it. I wish they’d make it into a movie, and I’m so disappointed they haven’t. However, Rae from Bookmark Chronicles (if you follow her) didn’t like it. But it’s one of my favourite novels, and I know a lot of people really liked it! Including a class of children I taught, so I think there’s a good chance you’d like it, too!
        I will definitely let you know! I went to the bookstore today, but I forgot to bring the names with me, so I bought some other books instead! I figure I can always go back! Nothing better than a bookstore 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooo – I’ll have to check them out, I’ve heard of them but not looked at them in any detail. Thanks for the rec. 🙂 Haha – that’s the beauty of a book shop – it’s never ever a chore to go back! 😉 Enjoy your new books!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I like the sound of 13 Minutes! I might have to add it to my wish list 🙂
    I totally agree on Divergent, it’s so tame compared to other dystopians. I will check Am I Normal Yet for a new feature on my blog about mental illness 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you like thrillers or psychological crime sort of books, then I think you’d definitely like it. 🙂 Absolutely! Watered down dystopia for sure. Ahhh you totally should! A feature about mental health has got me curious – I’ll definitely check that out. 🙂

      Like

  6. Oh wow thank you for the tag!! 😀 This looks really interesting, and I really love your answers. I’ll definitely have to give this a shot soon~
    I’ve heard a lot about Holly Bourne recently, looks like I’ll have to invest in one of her books now!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. First of all, lovely blog. This is such a great tag! I, too, will never tire of Harry Potter, and the cover of The Next Together is breathtaking – I just spent a few minutes staring at it on my laptop screen. I’m a huge Lucien fan as well. He was one of my favorite characters in ACOTAR (my other favorite was Rhysand). I wasn’t a big Tamlin fan just because he could be so weak at times, and I’m excited to read ACOMAF because I hear that Rhysand has a much bigger role in it! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. At this point I’ve seen so much criticism for the Divergent series that I’m not sure it’s as beloved as we think it is anymore. haha. I also thought it was a pretty average series, and I couldn’t get past book 2. Whereas The Hunger Games is one of my favorite YA series ever.

    Hmm, everyone has read A Court of Thorns and A Court of Mist and Fury, haven’t they? I feel like I’m the only one in the wold who hasn’t lol. I did enjoy Throne of Glass, but was a bit underwhelmed. Crown of Midnight is still waiting on my shelves, so I will eventually read it. But ACOMAF sounds sooo goood, I can’t help being curious because someone is talking about it on Twitter pretty much every hour. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

