The Pastry Book Tag

Header image: Greta Punch via Unsplash. 

Thanks so much to the lovely Beth at Reading Every Night for tagging me! A tag that combines books with delicious sounding pastries is basically a dream come true for a little piglet like moi.

jennifer-lawrence-food.gif

Image Source


Croissant:
Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) love

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

series-of-unfortunate-events-cover

I was totally going to go with the obvious answer here, but for the sake of variety I’ve chosen one of my favourite children’s book series that isn’t Harry Potter. It’s unlike any other middle grade series and Snicket’s strange writing style is still one of my all time favourites. I have no doubt that a whole new generation will fall in love with this comically macabre series when it comes to Netflix some time this year.

PS. Netflix, if you’re reading this, get a move on won’t ya?


Macaroon:
Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it at the end

Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield

paper_butterflies

This wasn’t hard to get through because it was boring or hard work. On the contrary it was incredible read that took me just a couple of hours to plough through. Instead, it was difficult because it tackles a harrowing subject matter: child abuse. This book is hard to swallow, but the message carried within its pages is an incredibly important one. Read it.


Vol-Au-Vent:
Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat

Blame by Simon Mayo

blame_simon_mayo

I was so utterly taken with the idea of Blame, in which relatives can be imprisoned for ‘heritage crimes’ i.e. the felonies of their parents or other family members. Unfortunately, there was more action and not enough world building, which wasn’t what I was hoping for from this promising UKYA dystopia novel.


Pain Au Chocolat:
Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

sin_eaters_daughter_cover

Don’t you just hate it when an awesome sounding high fantasy book featuring a heroine with the power to kill with one touch and a beautiful cover turns out to be mostly about embroidery, praying and emotionally un-engaging love triangles? Yeah, me too…


Profiterole:
Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention

Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

because-you'll-never-meet-me-cover.jpg

Granted, there are many a great contemporary young adult books floating around out there, but Because You’ll Never Meet Me is an underrated gem. I hadn’t really heard anything about this book, but was taken in by that lovely little pastel cover when I saw it lurking in my local library. It delivered way more than I expected and I love the way that it portrayed disability, friendship and sexuality.


Croquembouche:
Name a book or series that’s extremely complex

The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness

These books aren’t complex in a too hard to understand way, but they’re complex in the sense that they make you question your beliefs and your morals time and time again. There’s no room for black and white in this series and the dilemmas and situations that the characters face really made me think.


Napoleon:
Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

the-maze-runner-cover

Spoiler alert: I didn’t actually like this book. I thought the film was marginally better, mainly because I didn’t have to actually read Dashner’s odious writing and it featured Dylan Thomas, which is always a bonus. It’s the only film adaptation that I can think of that I actually liked more than the source material – what a typical bookworm! 


Empanada:
Name a book that was bittersweet

The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter-Hapgood

the-square-root-of-summer-macmillan

This was such a wonderful debut. It’s full of heady summer vibes, starry sci-fi elements and first love, tempered by grief and heartbreak. It’s the very definition of a bittersweet read. If you want to read my review, you can have a look here.


Kolompeh:
Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country

The Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

the-lies-we-tell-ourselves-cover.jpg

This book takes place in West Virginia in the 1950’s, which is pretty damn far from my sleepy hometown in the South East of England. Although this book fell a little bit flat for me, it had some really interesting historical insight and I finished it having learned a bit more about the Civil Rights Movement and integration, which I didn’t know much about before.


Pate A Choux:
Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try

The Three Course Dinner Chewing Gum – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

charlie_and_the_chocolate_factory

“It’s changing… roast beef and baked potato. Crispy skin and butter!”

Violet Beauregarde, Charlie and The Chocolate Factory

I have been fascinated and disgusted in equal measure by this little invention for the last fifteen years. Please can someone get on with creating this IRL so I can see once and for all whether it would be my worst nightmare or a dream come true?


I tag:

Psssst: If you’d like to read my reviews for any of the books mentioned above, you can check them out below!

wordpress-sign-off

 

44 thoughts on “The Pastry Book Tag

  1. I’m loving the Chaos Walking series! You’re so right – it makes you question if you’d make the same choices and what you think of society and humanity in general. I’ve yet to read Monsters of Men but can’t wait to pick it up and finish this great trilogy! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so good! Absolutely – it puts some really difficult metaphorical and philosophical questions out there, which is one of the reasons I think it’s so good. πŸ™‚ Have you heard it’s been optioned for film? Ahhhh amazing – I hope you enjoy it, I think it might have been my favourite one of the three. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Because of everything, haha! They took way too many liberties with everything, changed the timeline and the origins of things like the serum. I hated it, it was insane, I looked like a crazy fangirl who just learned her TV husband was gonna be killed off the show.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always wanted to read The Series of Misfortunate Events series! My little brother loved the series when we were growing up… Maybe a series to read along with my 9 year old?

    I’ve never heard of The Chaos Walking trilogy… I’ve never actually read a PN book either… I am now intrigued!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Firstly, I agree with Jennifer Lawrence. Secondly, I have been wanting to read Maze Runner, but I have heard this same thing from many others. I’ve loved the movies so far. I don’t want to be disappointed with the books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! Don’t we all! πŸ™‚ I think it’s just a case of what sort of writing style you like. Dashner’s didn’t work for me, but I know plenty of other people who loved the books. I think it’s just person preference so don’t be put off. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great picks for this tag! I loved reading all your answers as well. A Series of Unfortunate Events is a favourite of mine as well. I loved the books when I was younger so I definitely have to re-read them at some point. I’m so excited for the upcoming Netflix series as well. πŸ™‚
    I also really enjoyed The Square Root of Summer, I definitely agree it fits the description of bittersweet, it as such a lovely book and a lovely story as well.
    I have the Chaos Walking series on my to-read list. I actually brought all three of the books the other day πŸ˜€ so I can’t wait to get started on them.
    Great answers, again, I really loved reading your responses to this tag! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Beth! πŸ™‚ Me too! I have them all sitting here but never seem to find the time to re-read. I definitely need to get on that. Omg I can’t wait – I wish they’d give us some more information though, I’m dying to see it and we don’t even know when it’s going to air yet. 😦 I’ll be so sad if we can’t get it on UK Netflix for a while! It was a totally lovely story – another book I didn’t know what to expect from and was totally surprised. It’s a perfect summer read, I think! πŸ™‚ Ahhhhh you must start them soon they are SO good and they might tide you over until the ACOMAF sequel haha! Let me know what you think when you get going with them. πŸ™‚ Thank you! πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right!
        I could use some more time to re-read as well, there’s so many books I’d love to get around to again but I barely have the time to read new books, let alone re-read old ones.
        I see pictures of Neil Patrick Harris as Count Olaf and he looks so amazing in the role, I want more info on it so badly! Oh I was the same, I had no clue what to expect but I loved the series from the very first book! πŸ˜€
        I’m not sure if anything can tide me over until ACOMAF sequel but it’s worth a try! πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely let you know! πŸ˜€

        Like

  5. I have Because You’ll Never Meet Me just sitting on my kindle waiting to be read. It just sounds so super sweet, I really have to read it soon. I just have so many books!!!

    And you’re not alone with the Maze Runner!!! I like the book, but the movies are soooo good!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a really sweet read! So many people have said a similar thing to me once I published this post, so I hope that it encourages a few more people to pick it. πŸ™‚ Haha – trust me I know that feeling! I definitely preferred the movie to the book, although I haven’t watched/read the sequels! x

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Agree with you about the Maze Runner and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory!

    After reading this, I’m now looking forward to getting hold of Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas. I love those underrated books that just steal your heart (and your attention) away, and then stick with you for a long time aftwards.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel bad that I didn’t like the Maze Runner but I just can’t help it haha! Ahh I really hope you love it – I wasn’t expecting a huge amount because I hadn’t heard a lot about it but it had a lot of depth and the writing was lovely. πŸ™‚ Love to hear your thoughts once you’ve read it!

      Like

  7. Thanks for the tag Sammie! ‘Because You’ll Never Meet Me’ was soooo good, thank you for persuading me to pick that one up next! I literally finished it in 2 sittings, and I only took a break because I was getting off a plane haha. I’d definitely try the three course dinner chewing gum, just because it sounds so disgusting but so intriguing! Great answers πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

