Bye Bye Summer, Hello Autumn: August Wrap-Up

Ah, the glorious month of September. The month of back to school, new stationary, Pumpkin Spice, cuddly jumpers and making really, really premature plans for Halloween that never actually come off because you’re an adult who has a job and commitments and stuff and actually you’d rather be able to sleep at night than watch the reboot of The Ring.

Side note: Has anyone else seen that trailer yet? I want to rewind my brain.

screaming-gif.gif

Image Source

Anyway! A wrap up post, from Bookshelves & Biros? I KNOW. Trust me, I’m surprised too. I’m such a disorganised person that I schedule posts and then they publish before they’re finished. Oops.

As far as reading months go August wasn’t the best I’ve ever had, but I did managed to fit in a couple of ARCs and some books I’ve wanted to read for a while; a couple of which turned out to be absolute belters.


5 Star Reads

What’s A Girl Gotta Do? Holly Bourne

img_20160803_093741.jpg

I promise I have a review for this coming very soon. You’ll have to wait and see exactly why I loved it so much, but take it from me when I say that this is an INCREDIBLE book. Incredible. If you only read one series this year, make it The Spinster Club trilogy by Holly Bourne. Just do it.


4 Star Reads

The Accident Season, Moira Fowley-Doyle

the-accident-season-cover.jpg

Again, because I am disorganised, I have a review for this little bean in the pipeline but haven’t quite gotten around to polishing it up yet. The Accident Season was a little frenetic at times, but on the whole it was a haunting gem of a book with gorgeous, lyrical prose.

Haunt Me, Liz Kessler (ARC)

haunt-me-liz-kessler.jpg

I rated this book 4.5 (damn Goodreads and it’s denial of the need for .5 ratings), but I’m too lazy to make another category so here it is. I actually finished this book about half an hour ago and it absolutely broke my heart. Gorgeously poetic writing, characters to root for and a plot full of hope. I definitely shed a few sneaky tears at the end of this one.


3 Star Reads

Just a Few Inches, Tara St. Pierre (review copy)

just-a-few-inches-cover

Oh, I have actually written a review for this one! Wonders will never cease. Check it out here.

The Sister, Louise Jensen

the-sister-cover.jpg

I doubt I’ll review this because I don’t often spend time reviewing non-YA books, but I took advantage of a Kindle offer on a very lazy Bank Holiday and was pleasantly surprised. There’s nothing ground-breaking on offer here, but it was perfect to gobble up mindlessly on a sunny Sunday afternoon.

The Lies We Tell Ourselves, Robin Talley

the-lies-we-tell-ourselves-cover

I still feel really conflicted about this book and I’ve outlined why in another forthcoming review. This one is actually scheduled, so you won’t have to wait too long to find out why. Yay!

Holding Up The Universe, Jennifer Niven (ARC)

holding-up-the-universe-jennifer-niven

A perfectly nice read, but not one that I’d shout from the mountain tops about. I liked Niven’s writing, but this book hasn’t made me desperate to read All The Bright Places, which seems to be uber popular with lots of people!


Currently Reading

 Stealing Snow, Danielle Page (ARC)

stealing-snow

I am having such struggles with this book. I’m procrastinating so that I don’t have to read it, which is definitely something I don’t like doing when I’m reading. Procrastinating should be reserved for work and tax returns, not books! I’m not sure if I’m going to make it through or if it’s going to be a DNF, but I’m going to give it another bash over the weekend. Fingers crossed!


September TBR

Dear Charlie, N.D Gomes (ARC)

dear-charlie-cover.jpg

This is a lovely little paperback ARC that I picked up at YA HQ stall at YALC in July. In fact, this is my first ever uncorrected proof in solid book form – all of my other ARCs thus far have been PDF or Kindle copies, so this is kinda special for me! I really hope it doesn’t disappoint now…

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1), Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

illuminae-cover

I’ve had this gorgeous thing sat in the middle of my TBR for quite some time now and I think September is the month that it needs to be tackled. Literally everyone seems to adore this series and I hope I can add my name to the fan club after this month!

Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide, Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies and Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists, J.K. Rowling

I am henceforth going to rename 2016 ‘Potter Renaissance Year’. Hogwarts, Hogwarts, hoggy warty Hogwarts, teach us something pleeeeeease!

Under Rose Tainted Skies, Louise Gournall

under-rose-tainted-skies.jpg

I’ve heard lots and lots of good things about this book and the author is absolutely hilarious on Twitter, so I’m expecting great things here! Also that cover is just the prettiest thing. I’ll need it to get me through the impending doom of England in the autumn, AKA rain, rain and what’s that? Yup, more rain.

Throne of Glass, Sarah J. Maas

throne-of-glass.jpg

I need something to tide me over until the release of ACOTAR #3. Simple.

What have you guys read this month? What’s taking up precious space on your September TBR? Tell me all in the comments!

wordpress-sign-off

Note: Gorgeous image for my header from Gabriel Garcia Marengo via Unsplash

45 thoughts on “Bye Bye Summer, Hello Autumn: August Wrap-Up

  1. Loads of HP stuff is happening in 2016 isn’t it! I’m unsure about buying those ebooks though as I feel like it’s going to be mostly recycled Pottermore stuff – and then what are they gonna do? Take the content in the ebooks off of Pottermore and make Pottermore even MORE rubbish?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know! So exciting! Yeah I think it’s definitely stuff that is already on Pottermore. I haven’t worked out yet whether J.K. will be adding new insight for those novellas as well as what’s already out there or whether it’ll be a straight up re-publishing, so to speak. We shall see! I quite like the new Pottermore, but I miss the more interactive elements. 😦 They did have a quiz this week though, so hopefully they’ll start adding some more fun stuff back in soon!

      Like

      • I’ve had a look on Pottermore and it does say there’s brand new content from jkr but only for a couple of the ebooks and also doesn’t say how much new content (I imagine not a lot). I do like the new Pottermore because all I really used it for was finding the new content, but I miss the pretty pics!

        Like

  2. I really need to read The Spinster Club books! I brought the whole trilogy before going to YALC and I’ve heard great things about Holly Bourne’s books as well! Also I’ve seen some really good reviews for Holding up the Universe so I’ve had to add that one to my to-read list!
    I’m struggling to get through Stealing Snow at the moment, but I’m hoping to finish it next week and write my review. I’m just enjoying it as much as I hoped.
    But I am looking forwards to the Harry Potter novellas, and Illuminae is a favourite of mine so I hope you love it as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yaaaaaaas you must! They’re so good. ❤ Yeah I've seen some great reviews for it too – I didn't dislike it but I didn't love it either. I think it will be a really relatable book for a lot of people though like ATBP seems to be. 🙂 God it's just a book that drags so hard, right? I can't wait to see your review! Eeek, I hope I do too! If nothing else the book is a work of art in itself, so there's that haha. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • They’re high on my to-read list, just because of everything that was discussed about them during YALC!
        Well I still need to read ATBP so I guess I’ll get around to both eventually, just need to wait until I do to work out what I think of them.
        Yeah it’s dragging for me at the moment!
        It’s worth buying it just for how gorgeous it is isn’t it? 🙂

        Like

  3. Seems like you had a great reading month! I honestly didn’t even know they were doing a reboot of The Ring, I will avoid that trailers as I remember the original freaked me out and gave me nightmares. I still can’t stand the white noise sound from TVs! I’m also planning on reading ToG soon to tide me over until ACOTAR #3, I need more of SJM’s writing. I hope we both end up enjoying it! And I hope you have a great September. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😁 I did read some wonderful books this month. Haunt Me was a surprise highlight. Omg the first one terrified me so much I slept on the floor in my mums room after I watched it haha. 😂 I’m glad it’s not just me! Haha that’s my exact reasoning! 😁 you too, my lovely! X

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m keen to get into The Accident Season and What’s A Girl Gotta Do eventually! Both sound like really good books (though definitely different to each other). Hope you like Throne of Glass – SJM’s works tend to not sit well with me but most people really love it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohhhh you should definitely check both of those out! WAGGD is absolutely brilliant, but the Accident Season is written in a style that I think people will either love or hate depending on what sort of reader they are. I’d love to hear your thoughts if you read it. 😁 Thank you! I didn’t like aspects of ACOTAR, but I really loved her writing style and characters in ACOMAF so hopefully I’ll like ToG. I understand there’s a lot of conflicting opinion surrounding that particular series, though!

      Like

  5. Happy September! 🙂
    Throne of Glass. I have a love/hate relation with that series xD I truly dislike the main character and I found the story to be quite flawed, but I can’t help reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ILLUMINAE 😍😍😍 YES!!!!!! I’m only a LITTLE excited for you to read that. In case you couldn’t tell 😉

    I really need to read the Holly Bourne books! They sound amazing. The only reason I finished Stealing Snow was because it was an ARC otherwise it probably would have been my first DNF, haha. I need to read Throne of Glass too, but I’m really intimidated by it. I’ll definitely be interested to see what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Woooooooo! Haha, nope, not even a little bit! 😉 I can’t wait to read it either, it’s just so PRETTY. You definitely do, they really remind me of a slightly more serious version of the Louise Rennison books. They’ve got the same great sense of humour. 🙂 Ahhhhh I really want to DNF it, which is so bad. I just have no motivation to continue with it. I’m going to start it next week so I’ll keep you posted on my thoughts! 😀

      Like

    • Oh, I don’t think it was a bad book at all, it just didn’t light up the sky for me in any way. I think I was just expecting a little more spark because of the hype around ATBP. Saying that I think that it will resonate with a lot of people. I’m just not one of them haha! Thank you so much. 🙂

      Like

  7. I amactually really looking forward to read Holding Up the Universe and Lies We Tell Ourselves.
    I don’t have tbr planned, but I know I want to read Six of Crows and it’s sequel, and I also want to read books from my Netgalley to built that ratio.
    I hope (fingers crossed) to get ARCs of Lindsey kelk’s new book We Were On A Break and Isabelle Broom’s new Book A Year and a Day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

