The Goodreads Book Tag

HELLO FRIENDS!

Sorry I’ve been so absent over the last week or so, I was doing a little thang called moving house. I still have a few boxes and bits and bobs lying about, but I couldn’t neglect the blogosphere anymore. I haven’t done any tags for a little while and I’ve seen this little doll floating about on a few of my favourite blogs so I thought I’d give it a go!

What is the last book you marked as read?

the-sky-is-everywhere-cover

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

This wasn’t on my TBR for September, but I popped into WHSmith, saw the new Zoella Book Club cover and went just a little weak at the knees. Obviously it was far too pretty to leave on the shelf…

I didn’t rate this as much as I’ll Give You The Sun and I think it’s actually clear in terms of the quality of the writing that this is Nelson’s debut. I liked it, but I didn’t love it with every fibre of my fickle little heart like I did with IGYTS.

What are you currently reading?

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

throne-of-glass.jpg

FINALLY. I’M FINALLY READING THIS SERIES. After finishing A Court of Mist and Fury about a month ago I was desperate for more Maas and everyone seems to love this series, so why not? I’ve actually shockingly managed to avoid all major spoilers for the rest of the series, so I’m genuinely intrigued as to where it’s going to go!

What was the last book you marked as to read?

coldest-girl-in-cold-town

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

I’ve never read any Holly Black books, but this was sitting on the buy one, get one half price in Waterstones yesterday (yeah, I made the rounds in town this weekend) and although I didn’t buy it, that blurb definitely piqued my interest. There seem to be a few mixed reviews, but I haven’t read any paranormal or urban fantasy YA books for a while so I’m keen to see what this offers.

Do you use the star rating system?

Yes! Although  Goodreads STILL doesn’t offer the option of half star ratings, which makes me really sad. This is me trying to choose between a 3 and a 4 because there’s no 3.5 option:

parksandrecconfused.gif

Image Source

Sad times.

What book do you plan on reading next?

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files 1) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminae-cover

Must. Read. This. Beautiful. Masterpiece.

Are you doing the 2016 reading challenge?

gr-reading-challenge.jpg

I am indeed! I set myself a target of forty books initially, but after I started blogging in February I was reading more and more so I upped it to fifty. I’m currently sat at 48, which I’m pretty pleased with!

What book do you plan on buying next?

I should really be on a self-imposed book buying ban because, as previously mentioned, I’ve just moved house and I don’t really have the money to spend on books. However…I am going to buy the Pottermore/Hogwarts novellas because I am Potter trash and I can’t let my collection go unfinished.

Who needs frying pans when you have Harry, anyway?

Do you have a wishlist?

I have a wishlist so long that I haven’t seen the beginning of it for quite some time now, to be honest.

What is your favourite quote?

Wow, that’s a big question. I’m a hoarder of words and I bookmark quotes when I’m reading like they’re going out of fashion, so choosing one would be like trying to choose my favourite Harry Potter moment. AKA impossible. Here’s one of my favourites from this year, instead:

β€œStories are wild creatures, the monster said. When you let them loose, who knows what havoc they might wreak?”

Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls

Who are your favourite authors?

  • J.K. Rowling
  • Jandy Nelson
  • Patrick Ness
  • Roald Dahl
  • Cassandra Clare
  • Holly Bourne
  • Malorie Blackman
  • Jodi Picoult

Oh Goodreads. The downfall of many a bibliophile. Despite your unwillingness to succumb to half star ratings, my love for you is passionate and unending. I might even love you more than Instagram.

I tag:

Plus anyone else who fancies having a go! Hope you’re all having the best of Mondays. ❀

wordpress-sign-off

34 thoughts on “The Goodreads Book Tag

  1. I loved reading your answers for this tag! I really hope you enjoy the Throne of Glass series, I just finished Empire of Storms and honestly t was amazing. Loads of people didn’t enjoy the first book as much (I’ll admit I was among them) but stick with the series because it gets so much better. I also hope you enjoy Illuminae because that is one of my all-time favourite books, and a load of other people’s as well.
    I’m with you on wishing Goodreads had a half-star system, maybe if we complain enough about it they’ll implement one! πŸ™‚
    Great tag, and great answers as well. Congrats on almost completing your reading challenge for this year as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cheers, Beth! πŸ™‚ I liked ToG, but I found it a little slow in places. I’m okay with that though because it’s the first in the series and undoubtedly there’s some groundwork to do! Crown of Midnight arrived in the post today so I’m super excited to get stuck into that. πŸ™‚ I hope I love it as much as so many other people seem to! Yes that’s another super duper popular one – I have very few doubts about loving that one I mean just look at it haha! Gorgeous. Haha fingers crossed – I don’t hold out much hope though. Look how long it took Twitter to add more characters for images and quoting RTs haha! Fingers crossed. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much! x

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right! Yeah the series gets so much better. I always knew that the first book wasn’t as good going into it, I kind of expected it, but then I was just amazing by the rest of the series and now I’ve read the fifth book I am so completely addicted to the series it’s unbelievable. I hope you enjoy Crown of Midnight, and the rest of the series as well! πŸ˜€
        Oh I think you’ll definitely love it, the story is amazing as the book is beautiful! πŸ˜€
        Well yeah, but it got done eventually so I guess we just have to wait, no matter how long it takes!
        That’s all right! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! I’m really enjoying Crown of Midnight so far – it is a lot faster paced than ToG so it’s making for a better read for me overall. Still have absolutely no idea where it’s going haha! The covers are gorgeous, right? Little bit in love with them. Absolutely! x

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I enjoyed the first one but not as much as the ACOTAR series! Im going to read Crowd of Midnight though which I’ve heard is a bit more action packed though so I’m looking forward to that one. 😁 Eeek! Exciting! I hope you like it. Yes! They’re gorgeous, right?! Wish they were physical books because they’d make a great edition to my collection haha. It went well thanks, super tiring though! 😴 x

      Liked by 1 person

      • I still need to read ACOTAR! Hoping to get to it in October, along with An Ember in the Ashes and A Gathering of Shadows. Crown of Midnight is excellent, I’m sure you’ll not be disappointed. πŸ™‚ Aww if only they could be physical books, they could totally spray the edges to match the design patterns ❀ Glad your move was good πŸ˜€ x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahhhh you should! ACOTAR is a little slow until the last third but ACOMAF makes up for it I think. 😊 Ember In The Ashes is very good too – I haven’t read a Gathering of Shadows but I hope you enjoy them both. 😊 I hope not – it’s just been dispatched from Amazon haha! Haha yes that would be amazing! 😍😍😍

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you very much for the tag! My reading goal also increased when I started blogging, around the same time as you. Woo! I’ve had Illuminae on my TBR for ages. At first the size of the thing freaked me out and then I went and finally bought it. I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. I can’t wait to hear what you think of it. πŸ™‚ Γ§

    Liked by 1 person

    • My pleasure! I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to reply – I’ve been moving house recently and I’ve been swamped but I’ll definitely check out your post soon. ❀ It’s mad how much more you read as a blogger, right? Haha yeah it is quite a chunky little book actually isn’t it? Plus how gorgeous it is is intimidating too – I’m so desperate to love it! You too – would love to hear your thoughts. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the tag, Sammie! ❀ I loved all your answers. I've been meaning to read The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. I first saw it in my local library and absolutely fell in love with the cover. Plus, Holly Black is one of my all-time favorite authors. I hope to read it soon. And I've heard so many good things about Illuminae! I saw a copy at The Last Bookstore this weekend and wanted it so badly. But I'd already bought six books and thought I'd better wait until next month, lol. Happy Reading! I'll try to do this one soon πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha loved this! “Who needs frying pans when you have Harry, anyway?” – my life, summed up right there. I really want to buy the new HP books too, although truth be told I don’t own the complete set of the original Hogwarts Library *much tears*. I should probably amend that . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ooh I hope you pick up The Coldest Girl in Coldtown – I really enjoyed that one! I’m really keen to read more of Holly Black’s books. Can’t wait to see what you think of Throne of Glass. I am a bit obsessed… And what you said about I’ll Give You the Sun = my thoughts exactly. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooooh I’m glad you’ve mentioned that one because I’ve heard so little about her books in general. 😊 Her books (when I see them about) always really appeal to me! Haha! I finished it last week but I’ve just moved houae and have been so busy/tired I haven’t even managed to write any notes. I’m so behind! I enjoyed it though. 😊 Have you finished it yet? Haha yaaaaaaas! Love that book so much. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Same! There are a few more I really want to read – The Darkest Part of the Forest, and Tithe in particular. They don’t get loads of hype, but they all looks amazing πŸ˜€ And yes, I’ve finished Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight now, I haven’t started Heir of Fire yet as there are loads of other books I want to read, but I’m going to soon, as I can’t wait any longer for Empire of Storms! Hope your move went well, congratulations on your new house! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes! I really want to read The Darkest Part of the Forest but other books always seem to get in the way haha! I don’t blame you – the hype is unreal! Thank you so much. πŸ™‚ It was pretty stressful (no surprises there) but I think we’re getting there now! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

