September Wrap-up & October TBR

How about some cliché to brighten up your week? Here goes: I literally feel like I was sat at my laptop writing out my August wrap-up about three days ago. Where the hell has September disappeared to?!

Right now that’s out of the way, we can get on with the post!

I’m actually pretty happy that September is over, because I had an absolutely terrible reading month by my (admittedly very high) standards and now the initial frenzy of house moving is over I can get back to what really matters: reading, reading, hibernation from the cold and reading. Oh, and candles!


What I read in September:

5 Star Reads

4 Star Reads

3.5 Star Reads


Currently Reading:

I’m currently reading three books, including ARCs of Dear Charlie by N.D. Gomes (good so far, would recommend) and Stealing Snow by Danielle Page of Dorothy Must Die fame (terrible, would not recommend even as a doorstop). Heir of Fire, the third instalment in Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series is great so far though, so that mostly makes up for the utter drivel masquerading as a retelling of The Snow Queen.


October TBR (To Be Read):

I’ll also let you into a secret – I failed miserably at keeping to my September TBR, just like I do with all TBR lists I’ve ever written for myself. What can I say? I’m unpredictable. Or something. This means I still need to read Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman, which I pinky promise I’ll try to get around to this month.

I picked up a copy of Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) by Leigh Bardugo on a trip to town last weekend and it didn’t even cost me a penny because Waterstones loyalty cards are the BOMB. If you’re based in the UK and you don’t have one yet then you need to get on it! I’ve heard such great things about Bardugo’s books and I can’t wait to peel back the cover on this pretty little thing.

I also won a giveaway on Twitter a few weeks ago and ended up with a few horror books! I love creepy things, but I’ve read virtually no YA horror books, so I’m super excited to see if Alex Bell’s Frozen Charlotte is as creepy as people are saying it is. The cover is certainly giving me the heebie-jeebies. I think considering the month, I’ll save it to read over Halloween!

Now, if you’ll excuse me…*Grabs all things Pumpkin Spice and The Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack*

nbc-halloween.gif

What are you guys gonna be stacking your bookshelves with this month? I’d love to know! Tell me alllllll in the comments.

wordpress-sign-off

Header photo by Corey Blaz via Unsplash

23 thoughts on “September Wrap-up & October TBR

    • Me too! It’s been sitting on my shelves for SO long. Oh my god I’ve nearly finished Heir of Fire and I am loving it! I thought the first book was a bit slow but it’s gathering some speed now and I love Rowan! Are you up to date with the series? 🙂

      Like

    • Well, I loved reading it but all of it is available on Pottermore and most of it I’d already read! So it just depends on whether you’d rather scour through Pottermore and read them bit by bit, or spend 1.99 and have them all in one place. 🙂 If you’ve never read them before a lot of them (like Lupin and McGonagall’s backstories) are really interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Tell me about it! How are you finding Stealing Snow so far? I’m really struggling with it! I don’t think it’s as good as I’ll Give You The Sun, but Jandy Nelson’s writing is totally captivating. 🙂 Hope you enjoy when you get round to it!

      Like

    • I REALLY REALLY NEED TO I PROMISE I WILL TRY THIS MONTH! 🙂 The ToG series is ruining my TBR a little bit though, I keep telling myself that’ll I’ll leave it a couple of weeks before I pick up the next one but I keep failing hahaha. I know right?! So awful. I don’t know how it made it past beta?! Mine, too! I haven’t read any of her books before so I’m intrigued. 🙂

      Like

  1. Oooh my god! ! Illuminae is amazing! I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did and I’ve been wanting to read the grisha trilogy for a while now ever since I read six of crows. . Have you read that one yet? I loved reading this post… happy October! ! 😊😅😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh that’s what I like to hear! Pretty much everyone I’ve spoken to/know loves that book, so I have pretty high expectations. 🙂 I haven’t yet! I’m working my way through the Throne of Glass series at the moment and then I’ll probably move onto that once I’m done. 🙂 Thank you! Happy October to you too – have a great one! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay to Illumine! I’m so pumped for Gemina I hope you love it XD Also so many people have dislikes Stealing snow that I kinda want to read it just to see how terrible it is (is that a strange thing to do? Perhaps XD) Great wrap up and I hope your having an amazing reading month!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope so too! I’m pretty sure I will as it seems like all the bloggers I love have really enjoyed it. Can’t be bad with all those recs! 😀 Hahaha no not at all – I read 50 Shades so I could laugh about it afterwards. Stealing Snow is truly, horribly boring though so I wish you good luck! Thank you, I hope you’re having a great one too! 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

