The Stationery Tag

Thanks to the ever fab Orangutan Librarian for nominating me to take part in this highly appropriate tag and props to Sam at RiverMooseReads for creating such a cute one! Head over and check out their blogs when you have a chance; they’re both brilliant.

As you can probably tell from my blog name, I love stationery. Just wind me up, pop me in a Paperchase (preferably with about fifty quid) and watch me go.

anne-hathaway-love-and-other-drugs.gif

giphy.com

^ In that situation, I am Anne Hathaway. Far from being interested in Jakey boy, I’m actually thinking about pens and notepads and felt tips and cute mini staplers and perhaps even some paperclips that look like penguins. #hearteyesemoji

Rules:

  • Thank the creator (me) Sam @ RiverMooseReads
  • Answer the questions.
  • Add pictures! (If you want to)
  • Tag (about) 5 people.

All covers from Goodreads. Click the pictures if you want to check them out!


Pencils: Favourite MG or children’s book

Charlotte’s Web – E.B. White

charlottes-web-cover.jpg

One of my favourite books when I was a kid was always Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. I’m a huge animal lover and I fell in love with Wilbur when my Mum first read it with me. It’s also pretty much the only time in my life that I haven’t been terrified of a spider! Seriously, why are all spiders in literature so scary?! Aragog and Shelob: NOPE.


Pens: A basic staple for any reader

Noughts and Crosses – Malorie Blackman

Noughts_and_Crosses_by_Malorie_Blackman[1]

I would never in a million, billion years refer to this book as simple, but I really do think that anyone who loves YA and books in general should invest in a copy of Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman. It’s my favourite book of all time and it’s everything that good Young Adult Literature should be: honest, hard-hitting, hopeful and impossible to put down.


Notebooks: What books do you own multiple copies of

The Harry Potter Series – J.K. Rowling

Harry_Potter_Deathly_Hallows

This question is legit so relevant to me because I actually have a drawer that is just full of notebooks and diaries. It’s shameful because I’ve only written in about three of them! Maybe I’ll open my own Paperchase branch. Anyway, the answer to this question is obvs my bae; Harry Potter. I have my original hard and paperback collection from when the books were first published, as well as a hardback box set with the new covers and the illustrated version of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. 

When will I stop? You do the honours, Harry:

never_harry_potter


Markers: A book with a beautiful cover

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1) – Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminae-cover

Every time I look at Illuminae (WHICH I STILL HAVEN’T READ SOMEONE SLAP ME) sitting on my desk I fall just a little bit more in love with it. Has there been a prettier book released over the last five years? I seriously doubt it.


Glue: Two characters that work well together even if they aren’t together

Rhysand and Feyre from the A Court of Thorns and Roses series – Sarah J. Maas

I’m shipping Feyre and Rhysand SO hard right now and can’t wait for the third A Court of Thorns and Roses books to see what happens to them. There’s nothing I love more than an epic romance and Rhys and Feyre are about as epic and romantic as you can get. Damn those Illyrian wings.


Scissors: What book would you like to destroy

I Am Pilgrim – Terry Hayes

i-am-pilgrim-cover.jpg

The idea of actually taking a pair of scissors to book, even one that I didn’t like that much, makes me want to cry. Shudder. I recently read I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes after receiving it for free in a book swap program called #SaveTheCulture and I thought it was over-hyped, unnecessarily long, emotionally detached and actually, pretty damn Islamophobic. Oh and a little bit misogynistic. Let’s not forget that women can’t be intelligent if they’re attractive or vice versa. I mean I won’t be shredding it to ribbons anytime soon, but it definitely won’t be staying on my shelves.


Art kit: What completed series do you own

The Chronicles of Narnia Series – C.S. Lewis

Well we’ve already had a little chat about my ever-spawning Harry Potter collection, but I’ve also got a beautiful box set of The Chronicles of Narnia books by C.S. Lewis. My Mum got them for me for Christmas when I was about 12 and they’re super special to me. LOVE YA, MUM.


Bonus: Show us your desk/stationery that you own for each question

So as I’m sure you’re all aware because gurl love to moan about these things, I’ve just moved house with the boyf and we’re still in the process of getting everything into its rightful place! I’ve just started pulling a little blogging nook together (appaz it’s sounds ridiculous to call it that but I disagree) in the spare bedroom.

Actually I’ve done very little other than say where I wanted the pictures and sit at the desk and blog but SHH.

I’m not 100% where all of my stationery is right now, but feel free to have a nose around out office-in-progress as it is right now, if ya like:

Whaddya think?


I tag:

wordpress-sign-off

77 thoughts on “The Stationery Tag

  1. Thanks so much for the tag Sammie, I can’t wait to get around to this one because I am the same when it comes to stationary, I just love it! Paperchase is my second favourite shop (first is obviously Waterstones!)
    I own multi copies of Harry Potter as well, and am honestly thinking of buying another edition of the series just because. Illuminae has a gorgeous cover (how have you not read it yet by the way?) but the inside of the book is even more gorgeous, and I love the A Court of Thorns and Rose series, I need the third on like I need air!
    Great answers, thanks again for the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

    • No worries, Beth! πŸ™‚ Yay – another fellow stationary hoarder! Hahaha that’s my exact feeling too. In my high street the Waterstones is opposite Paperchase, which is heavenly but also very dangerous! I know exactly what you mean – you can never have too much Potter and all of the different editions are so different and beautiful in their own right. Nooooo I haven’t read it yet! I bought it about 4 months ago but I still haven’t gotten around to it. Shameful! I’ve been meaning to read it this month but I’ve been caught up in racing through the ToG series. Now I’ve finished QoS I think I’ll have a break and start Illuminae. πŸ™‚ Oh man, you’re telling me! Roll on May 17! No worries. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the tag! I love stationary, and paper clips that look like penguins sound so adorable – I need some of those in my life! Charlotte’s Web is by far my favorite children’s novel, and I should get around to rereading it soon. Feysand is one of my favorite OTPs, and I will NEVER tire of shipping them. Can’t wait for the third book in the series! Lovely choices, Sammie! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • My pleasure! πŸ˜€ Haha I saw them a little while ago but didn’t buy any. 😦 I definitely need to go back and rectify that mistake. It’s such a glorious book, right? So poignant and just lovely. πŸ™‚ Oh my God me neither – I can’t wait for #3 either! Thank you! πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I lurve your blogging nook and I lurve Paperchase. Also, I keep seeing Noughts and Crosses everywhere lately! I remember it coming out and all my friends reading it at the time, but it seems to be having a bit of a second heyday at the moment. Is it just me?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this tag! Great post πŸ˜€ I love stationary, too! I have so many notebooks and journals, it’s probably unhealthy. I just love all those cool covers πŸ˜€ And Charlotte’s Web was one of my favorites, too. I remember watching the movie with my mom and brother like it was yesterday haha πŸ™‚ Awesome answers, especially the one about Rhys and Feyre. I’m always happy about a ACOMAF mention lol πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  5. AHHH, thank you so so much for the tag! This tag seems like so much fun! I agree with Feyre and Rhys because those two are so great together! and Illuminae is SO BEAUTIFUL ❀ I cannot wait for the release of Gemina soon! I really really need to get my hands on a set of Harry Potter, AHA I love the first one and need to see how the story goes! Again thank you so much for the tag! ❀ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the tag Sammie! I am obsessed with Paperchase too. You probably already know this, but if you have a loyalty card, you get Β£5 to spend on your birthday :O Yesterday I treated myself to some tiny erasers shaped like pigs, and I regret nothing. I am really loving your ‘Always’ picture above your desk by the way – I need it in my life!! I 100% agree with everything you said about Noughts and Crosses – it’s one of my favourite books of all time. I get a lump in my throat just thinking about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pleasure! πŸ™‚ Omg really? I have a loyalty card but that I didn’t know! Amazing. Haha you should definitely never regret buying erasers shaped like farm yard animals. That’s you winning at life. Thank you so much! You definitely do – my boyfriend bought it so I’m not entirely sure where it’s from but I have a feeling it might be Etsy. Me too! That’s a book I’ll definitely never, ever get over. I’m glad it’s not just me! x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha yesss, glad I could enlighten you about the Paperchase spending money – make sure you treat yourself next birthday πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Oooh that’s awesome, I could literally spend so much money on Etsy. So many beautiful things!! And I completely agree – I’ll never get over Noughts and Crosses. What did you think of the other books in the series, if you’ve read them? I thought they were good books, but I almost think it could have been a standalone, it had such an impact on me on its own. xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my God you are my new hero now, Jess! Woop! I know right?! I just wish more of the shops were UK based because sometimes the postage is madness haha. I liked the other books in the series, although nowhere near as much as Noughts and Crosses. I do think that Double Cross was almost as devastating as Noughts in some ways, though! I totally agree in the sense that it could have been a standalone though, it was definitely impactful and heartbreaking enough to stand on it’s own two feet. I think a lot of people have only read the first one anyways! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah the postage is not fun, I remember paying like Β£20 for a Β£10 notebook for my friend… haha. Ooh yes Double Cross was an emotional one too, and explored some really interesting stuff. I’m going to have to re-read them all at some point – Noughts and Crosses is the only one I’ve read multiple times. xx

        Liked by 1 person

  7. 1) I own more diaries and journals that haven’t been written in than most people, too! I’m not familiar with Paperchase, but I did used to work at a Staples, and it was like Disneyland!!
    2) Never seen that cover of Harry Potter. Ever.
    3) Love the silhouettes at your office! Beautiful!
    4) Love this tag! Great answers!! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

