900 Follower Q&A Part 1

Thank you so much to everyone who left me a like or a kind comment or even better, a fun question to answer on my 900 follower giveaway post! It super exciting running my first ever giveaway and I’m so happy so many of you took the time to enter. I’ve split the questions into two posts because I don’t want to bore you all to death just yet. Read on for Harry Potter, life or death McDonald’s questions and me rambling about what I love most about blogging. Enjoy!

Oh, oh, oh, please do go and check out all of the wonderfully talented, utterly lovely bloggers in this post if you haven’t already!


Kate at The Nerdy Novelty

Are you a Snape lover or hater?

A Snape lover, without a shadow of a doubt! He’s one of my all time favourite book characters and I still believe he’s one of the most complex and multi-layered creations in any children’s book ever written. Possibly even any book, full stop.

snape_approves.gif

Which Harry Potter book (not including The Cursed Child) is your favourite?

Ouch, that’s such a hard question! I think I’d have to go with Deathly Hallows. I’m a sucker for story lines that finally come to fruition and get wrapped up, so there’s that, but I also think that Deathly Hallows is one of the most tense and emotional books in the series. I’m a sucker for dem feels, y’know? It is worth saying that I love them all though, and choosing between them is like choosing between seven equally delicious looking doughnuts. AKA hard.


TeenBookLit101

Are you studying anything at school/college etc.?

Not anymore! I’m old. 😦 I did go to university though and I graduated in 2014. I have been an adult for two years, what is life?!


Megan at Bookslayer Reads

How do you feel you’ve changed as a blogger since you started blogging, until now, having 900+ followers?

Hmmm. I don’t think I’ve changed in the way that I approach my blog or my writing – I’m still as disorganised and pushed for time as always! Plus, I still make the mistake of forgetting when I’ve scheduled posts for and then letting them go out unfinished HAHA. I do think I’ve gotten a little bit more blogging savvy in general and I think my writing is improving as time goes on, though. I’m also posting way more reviews than I did before, which I kind of feel are the bread and butter of my blog nowadays as I have less time to dedicate to original features.


Casey at Adoptabookaus

What’s the most surprising thing you’ve learnt about blogging so far?

I think, on the whole, I’ve been surprised by the generosity and welcoming nature of the book blogging community. I am a cynic by nature, and the internet can be a toxic place, but everyone I’ve come across since I started blogging about books has been lovely, lovely, lovely.

How excited are you for Fantastic Beasts?!

This excited:

minions-excited-gif.gif

Image Source


Niraja at Fantastic Books and Where to Find Them

What is your Hogwarts House?

I’m a proud Gryffindor! Bonus fact: my Ilvermorny House is Thunderbird. Where my Lions at?

gryffindor-gif.gif

What is your Patronus?

A St. Bernard! Which considering that I love dogs more than I love people most of the time, I feel is a pretty appropriate choice.


Reg at She Latitude

If you had to take the place of one protagonist, who would it be?

Such a great question! Fantasy is my favourite genre, but I don’t want to die, suffer irreversible trauma or go through The Hunger Games so my options are fairly limited…I think one of the safer bets is Isabelle Lightwood from the Mortal Instruments series. She’s strong, clever, badass and she has a lot of fun. She’s also got a great set of friends and family around her, plus Simon as a boyfriend who despite being a vampire is still pretty cute.


Melissa at BookNerdMomo

What is one character from a book that you feel fits your personality?

I did a tag that related to this question a while back and it was SO hard to choose characters that fitted my personality without being really negative! I think if I had to choose just one, I’d go with Ginny Weasley from Harry Potter. She doesn’t like to be the centre of attention, but she has a quiet strength and quick wit. I’d like to think I’m a little bit like her.

ginny-weasley.gif


Jill at Rant and Rave About Books

What is your favourite thing to order from McDonald’s?

McDonald’s is love, McDonald’s is life. My favourite thing to order from the hallowed ground of the Golden Arches is their Chicken Legend burger with spicy mayo (do you guys have these in the States/elsewhere around the world?!), fries and a banana milkshake.

If you could eat one food for the rest of your life and read one book, which book would you read while enjoying your food?

I love to eat almost as much as I love to read, so this is such a hard question (damn you, Jill!). I think I’d have to go with my Mum’s spaghetti and meatballs, but I would probably have to laminate my one book to avoid spaghetti related book trauma. Speaking of the one book, I think I’ll go with Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I know I said Deathly Hallows was my favourite a couple of questions ago, but I don’t know if I could deal with the heartache over and over again for the rest of my life with no other books to distract me!


Anushka at Going Through Books

What is the best thing that has happened to you on this blog?

You guys, of course!

If you could bring about a change in the entire book blogging community, what would it be?

Wow, that’s a tough question. The community has been really kind to me and is full of brilliant, creative, awesome people who create amazing content, recommend books and share common interests, so I genuinely can’t really think of anything negative that I’d like to change. If anything, I’d like there to be more meet-ups or events aimed at readers of YA books or readers in general, but that’s not really a book blogging issue.


It really is such a treat to be asked so many fun questions by lots of my favourite bloggers and bloggers who I really respect. I’ll be bringing you part two in a few days, so keep an eye out!

Oh, before I forget, the winner of my little giveaway goody bag was the lovely Sam at Rivermoose Reads. Head over and check out her blog, she’s brilliant!

wordpress-sign-off

41 thoughts on “900 Follower Q&A Part 1

  1. Congrats on the follower count!

    I definitely agree with you on the Snape and Deathly Hallows questions. 🙂 I love it when a book finally answers questions that have been nagging me, and brings everything to a close.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on reaching 900 followers Sammie, though I’m guessing now you probably have a few more than that! I can’t wait for part two!
    Also, I may not be Gryffindor (I’m a Hufflepuff) but my Ilvermorny house is Thunderbird as well (I’ll admit to not being 100% sure what that means, I’m not as up to date on the Ilvermorny houses as I am the Hogwarts ones! :D)
    I’m sure the Fantastic Beasts movie will be amazing, I’ve seen the trailer so many times, are you going to see it the opening day/week?
    I love Isabelle Lightwood as well, she’s such an amazing character, and I definitely agree with you on the whole not wanting to be in The Hunger Games part as well! 😀

    Like

  3. Love your answers, Sammie! 🙂 We don’t have that chicken sandwich in the US or banana milkshakes. I feel like we’re getting ripped now that I know you guys have banana milkshakes. 😂 Throw some chocolate in there and it’s a party! Ooh I love meatballs. It’s the only thing I can make from scratch. Well, most Italian food I can make, but I actually just made my gourmet meatballs on Sunday. Good choice! 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Jill! 😀 Haha – someone else has just said that to me as well, it’s so weird that you don’t have them?! Absolutely! I’m sure you guys have some good McDs goodies that we don’t have here though. I need to come to the US and find out exactly what those items are haha! Ooooo, gourmet meatballs *heart eyes emoji* – that sounds delicious! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So many Harry Potter questions! A remainder that I MUST get to finishing the Harry Potter series XD I love all your answers to the questions! This McDonalds burger has me completely sold BUT WHERE IS THIS BURGER IN AUSTRALIA?! And you guys have milkshakes there too! I also NEED there to be more YA events out there! I want to say a congratulations again! And I loved getting to know you more! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • AHAHAHA yes I absolutely must! The spoilers are everywhere now because I am SO LATE to the series! I just read the first book! I have to hurry up and get myself the set! Haha we have beetroot in some of our burgers – HAHAHA I don’t think that’s a worldwide thing? Sadly no! I would love to have milkshakes but I don’t think they do them here! Always! ❤ 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 2 people

      • Hahaha yup you’re never going to avoid them now! I’m on Season 3 of Game of Thrones and I know pretty much everything that is about to happen because there were SO many spoilers while it was on TV haha. Isn’t dampening my enjoyment though, I hope it doesn’t for you with Potter, either! Hahaha it is! We have a burger in a chain called GBK that has beetroot and a fried egg in it. 🙂 Nooooo that’s so rubbish!!! ❤

        Liked by 6 people

      • AHAHA yea! OH, I really want to read GoT and watch the show and *luckily* I haven’t gotten ANY spoilers yet! Which is a massive feat I don’t know if I can keep up for long XD HAHA good luck, I hope your mind stays in the spoiler-free shelter from here on out 😛 The spoilers definitely don’t spoil it, I still really enjoy it! OOOOH it sounds interesting! HAHAH yes, I must start a petition to take it on! 😛 ❤

        Liked by 6 people

  5. Yay! Those were great questions. I really enjoyed reading your answers 🙂 I love that you compared yourself to Ginny. I think people tended to underestimate her just because she doesn’t have a dominant personality. I also enjoyed her quiet strength and cleverness.

    Liked by 2 people

    • They were good ones! Some really tough ones in there, too. Thank you so much! 🙂 Absolutely – she got pushed to the background a little bit but that never dimmed her character for me. She was always a steady and constant presence and I love that about her. Glad you agree, my friend! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  6. We don’t have “Chicken Lengends” or banana shakes! I’m broken-hearted! 😫😫
    Happy 900! Wow! That’s crazytown. I don’t know how you do it and find time to respond to our posts! 👏👏👏👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

