The Diverse Books Tag

Thanks so much to Lauren at Wonderless Reviews and Casey at Adoptabookaus, who both tagged me to take part in the Diverse Books Tag! Please go and check out their posts and all of their brilliant recommendations for diverse books.

Diversity and own voices have always been important in literature, but now more so than ever. I’m the first to admit that I could and should and will diversify my reading. Although I’ve read a few of the books on this list (and brilliant they absolutely were) it’s time for me to do better.

I could definitely do with a little helping hand in breaking out of my reading comfort zone and tracking down some exciting books from different communities, voices, cultures and parts of the world, so if y’all have any recommendations, feel free to throw them my way!


Rules

  • Credit the original creator, Read Diverse Books.
  • The Diverse Books Tag is a bit like a scavenger hunt. I will task you to find a book that fits a specific criteria and you will have to show us a book you have read or want to read.
  • If you can’t think of a book that fits the specific category, then I encourage you to go look for one. A quick Google search will provide you with many books that will fit the bill. (Also, Goodreads lists are your friends.) Find one you are genuinely interested in reading and move on to the next category.

Find a book starring a lesbian character

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

upside-of-unrequited.jpg

I haven’t actually read this book because it isn’t out yet, but based on everyone’s love of Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda coupled with the synopsis of this book, I will totally be getting my hands on it once it has been published. There are so few YA books that have lesbian protagonists, so I’m super excited to see what Becky Albertalli offers in this book. Early reviews are promising!


Find a book with a Muslim protagonist

Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik

sofi-is-not-obliged-cover.jpg

I love the sound of this book, partly because the synopsis makes it sound like a very, very funny read, but also because it’s an own voices book that I could learn something about a different culture from. After finding it through taking part in this tag, I’m definitely adding it to my TBR.


Find a book set in Latin America

A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabury

25810644.jpg

This gorgeous little thing has been on my radar for way too long. Set in Puerto Rico, it’s a richly drawn book that features curses, poisonous plants, legends and romance. NEED IT IN MY LIFE.


Find a book about a person with a disability

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sarah Barnard

quiet-kind-of-thunder

I’ve read some incredible books in 2016 and this book is up there with the best of them. The research Barnard has done to create a realistic portrayal of the deaf community, as well as doing justice to the complexity of Steffi’s selective mutism is absolutely stunning. It’s a sensitive, funny and refreshing book where the characters aren’t defined by their disabilities or by their romantic relationships.


Find a sci-fi or fantasy book with a PoC protagonist

Blame by Simon Mayo

blame_simon_mayo

Although this book didn’t grab me in the way I wanted it to, I loved the main characters. The story is told from the perspective of Ant and her brother, Mattie, who are British Haitians. Their identity is really well realised and I liked the way the importance of their heritage was demonstrated through the siblings speaking Haitian-Creole  when they were angry or in need of comfort from one another. You can find my review here.


Find a book set in (or about) any country in Africa

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

city-of-saints-and-thieves-cover.jpg

This is another book that isn’t out yet, but I am keeping my beady little eyes on. Natalie C. Anderson’s debut novel is an action-packed murder mystery set in Kenya. ARC reviews are absolutely gushing, so I have a good feeling about this one. Also, can we just take a sec to appreciate the sheer gorgeousness of that cover? *SWOON*


Find a book set in South Asia (Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka etc.)

A Thousand Splendid Sunby Khaled Hosseini

a-thousand-splendid-suns.jpg

So I’ve been trying to find YA books that I can use for this tag because that is primarily what my blog is about and what I love to read, but I’ve come to realise that YA books set in South Asia are extremely thin on the ground. I actually have a copy of A Thousand Splendid Suns, which was sent to me in a book exchange and I am very excited to read it, but I would love someone to recommend me a YA book from this part of the world. Any ideas?


Find a book written by an Indigenous or Native author

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

absolutely-true-story-of-a-part-time-indian.jpg

In this book, award-winning author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a aspiring cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. I know shamefully little about Native American culture, but this book seems as good a place as any to start!


Find a book with a biracial protagonist

Checkmate (Noughts and Crosses #3) by Malorie Blackman

checkmate-cover.jpg

Checkmate is the penultimate instalment in Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses series, which is about a society divided and categorised by race. It was one of the first dystopia books that I came across as a teenager and the way that racism and society is unpicked is both incredibly insightful and incredibly moving. Checkmate is about Callie-Rose, the biracial daughter of Nought and a Cross.


Find a book starring a transgender character or about transgender issues

The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

TAOBN

There are some other books about transgender issues and trans characters that are high up on my TBR (If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo and Beast by Brie Sprangler, namely) but Lisa Williamson’s The Art of Being Normal has become a firm favourite of mine. It’s the story of David, who wants to live as a girl. It’s got just the right balance of humour and heartbreak, and it really opened my eyes to how difficult it must be to know that you were born in the wrong body, as the wrong gender. You can find my review here.

I tag:

Anyone who’d like to get involved in the diverse books movement, push their reading boundaries or simply fancies having a go at this tag! 


What are the best books with diverse characters or settings that you’ve read recently? Have a fave indie publisher or #OwnVoices author you can’t get enough of? I’d be stoked to hear about them, so spread the love and gimme those recommendations in the comments.

wordpress-sign-off

39 thoughts on “The Diverse Books Tag

  1. Great picks for this tag Sammie, I haven’t read many of these myself, in fact I think the only book you picked that I read was A Fierce and Subtle Poison, but I have quite a few of the others on my to-read list.
    I can’t wait to read The Upside of Unrequited, I loved Becky Albertalli’s first book so I have high hopes for her second. Plus I’ve heard plenty of amazing things about Blame and The Art of Being Normal so I can’t wait to get started on both of those, hopefully soon but honestly who knows! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t wait for Becky Albertalli’s new book! I LOVE Simon Vs and as you said the reviews have been great and I can’t wait to read it πŸ™‚ Lesbian protagonists in YA are really hard to find so hopefully some more start emerging soon. I added some new books onto my TBR from your list(why must you make them sound so go XD) Great answers and I’m glad you found some new and different books from your norm to pick up πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome post! ❀ This is a much needed tag, for everyone I think. I know a lot of readers who haven't read many diverse books, including myself. I'll have to put a few (all) of these ones on my list. I was also looking at I Am Malala, as well as Simon vs. Homo Sapiens Agenda and Dante and Aristotle Discover the Secrets of the Universe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Azia! ❀ I'm so sorry for such a slow reply – I've been so busy! Absolutely. You should give it a go, if you fancy it. πŸ™‚ I know exactly what you mean – it's definitely opened my eyes to the variety out there and the fact that I could definitely mix up my reading habits a bit. I tried Dante, but I couldn't get into it. Simon is definitely on my list though! Hope you enjoy if you read any of them. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s alright, Sammie! I’m taking forever to respond to people’s comments, too. Busy times LOL. And I can’t wait to explore other genres. I’ve heard mixed reviews about Dante, so I’ll be sure to borrow before I buy, but I’ve heard amazing reviews for Simon. I already have a place for it on my shelves haha. Happy reading! ❀ πŸ˜€

        Like

      • I know right? Never enough time! I always think that’s a good strategy when you’re not quite sure about a book – I always head to the library or look for Kindle deals when there’s one of those! I wasn’t keen on Dante, but I don’t think I really gave it enough of a chance. I’ve still got it on my Kindle so maybe I’ll give it another go later on in the year. Would love to hear your thoughts on it, though. πŸ™‚ Happy days! You too my friend! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Amazing list, Sammie!! A Fierce and Subtle Poison was one of my favourite reads of the year, so I hope you enjoy it when you get to it! I’m super glad to see you enjoyed A Quiet Kind of Thunder because I was invited to participate in a blog tour for it. I’m terrible at remembering what people have read, but Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi is incredible. Such an eye opening and beautiful book. I definitely recommend that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg I’m soooo slow – sorry!!! Thank you so much. πŸ˜€ That’s good news, it’s been on my TBR for ages and I still haven’t gotten my hands on it. I’m glad to hear you liked it so much. πŸ™‚ That’s exciting! When is the post going out? It’s such a great, cute book. I haven’t read that – but am definitely interested if you’re recommending. I’ll check it out. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • I will: so almost done with school I can taste the freedom! This week is crazy-town! I have your package all ready to go, sitting to be mailed and I haven’t been able to get down to the post office!
        I have a presentation, a paper, and a monologue all due tomorrow! I’m freaking!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Eeeek! Good luck with the end of school – I hope it all goes well! 😁 Have I won a package? I don’t think I did but either way that sounds awesome haha. Don’t freak! It’s a bit late now because I am rubbish but I’m sure you aced it all. πŸ˜πŸ’™

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I make the same mistake every time! Lol! You and Sammi from ohbookishgirl! The double Sammi whammy!!
        Sorry bout that! You SHOULD get a package from me, lol! Just for the trouble!
        Sammi and I are doing a book exchange: she is sending me a copy of Three Dark Crowns with the AUS cover and I’m sending her a copy of The Thousandth Floor with the US cover. It’s awesome to have a friend overseas that can get you the books you want! I’m excited and I’m also participating in #SFATW with Annie from InkedBrownies! From Holland!
        I’m glad finals are over and I can go back to blogging regularly! Hopefully I did well and I’ll know soon. I also have about 1,000 emails to read: all missed posts from you guys! I’m going through them but it’s going to take me some time! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

      • Hahaha! Don’t worry! Easy mistake to make. πŸ™‚ Anytime you want to send me book presents though, do feel free! πŸ˜‰ Oh that’s a really cool idea! Awesome – I did that a few months ago with a blogger from Spain and it was a really fun thing to do. I’m a bit skint at the moment but I might get involved again in the new year. πŸ™‚ Yaaaaaaay! You must be so glad you’re all done now. Good luck for your results, but I’m sure you don’t need it. πŸ™‚ Oh wow! Good luck with that – that’ll keep you plenty busy now finals are done haha.

        Like

Leave a Reply

