Happy New Year! My Most Anticipated Books for the First Half of 2017

HAPPY NEW YEAR TWIGLETS! I hope you all had the most sparkly of Christmases and that your 2017 has gotten off to a wonderful start. ❤

There are few nicer feelings than the blank slate of a New Year, and I intend to put it to good use by getting right back on the blogging train after the crazy busy period that was the end of 2016. The dawn of a fresh 365 days means one thing and one thing only to a bookworm like myself: more sequels, new beginnings and hotly anticipated endings to fangirl over in all of their papery glory.

Here are my most anticipated releases for January through to May. I’ve used UK release dates here where possible, so there may be some discrepancy if you’re living elsewhere in the world.

Have I missed something awesome? Don’t forget to let me know what you’re waiting for this year!


January

Warding off the inevitable January blues are two debut novels. The much-hyped fantasy/magical realism beauty, Caraval, and YA murder mystery, City of Saints and Thieves, which is set in Kenya (Omg a YA book, set in Africa? FINALLY!). They both sound totally unique and utterly enthralling, and I’ll definitely be keeping some of my Christmas money back so I can get my hands on these babies.


February

our-own-private-universe-cover.jpg

Just how pretty is that cover?! I read The Lies We Tell Ourselves (Talley’s first novel) in 2016 and I wasn’t overly impressed, so I’m hoping that this one will be a bit more up my street. Either way, the plot sounds great and I’m digging the focus on LGBT+ relationships and specifically lesbian and bisexual characters in 2017 YA. Long may it continue!


March

Cover love is becoming a bit of a recurring theme for 2017, but SERIOUSLY JUST LOOK AT THEM. Queens of Geek is another LGBT+ focused story that takes place at a ComicCon style convention, which really speaks to my inner nerd. I’ve heard great things about Laini Taylor’s writing, so hopefully Strange The Dreamer will hopefully fulfil my fantasy quota for March. There’s not much information out there yet, but there is a suitably dreamy blurb on Goodreads that has certainly piqued my interest.


April

April is another month shaping up to be a good’un, with two much-anticipated diverse reads and a dreamy sounding fantasy retelling of Sleeping Beauty. I’m hoping to read some more #ownvoices books this year and challenge myself to break out of my comfort zone and read more diversely, so I’m excited about The Hate U Give, which is inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement.


May

This is the month where I can already taste my tears. A new Maas and a new Clare in one month?! The book gods are spoiling us. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while now, you’ll probably be surprised to see a Renee Adieh book on the list since I wasn’t the biggest fan of The Wrath and The Dawn, but I’m so in love with the idea of a Mulan retelling that I’m going to give her writing another chance. In all fairness though, I would be lying if I said this month is about anything other than Rhysand. *fans self*


What’s on your most-anticipated list for 2017, lovelies? Is there anything epic-sounding that has flown under my radar? Tell me all in the comments!

wordpress-sign-off

41 thoughts on “Happy New Year! My Most Anticipated Books for the First Half of 2017

  1. I AM CATCHING UP ON THE POSTS I MISSED BECAUSE I MISS YOUUUUU! I have to say however, you are a big reason as to why my death-by-TBR is a real threat – all these books were either already on the list or HAVE BEEN ADDED (really almost every single one is on the list right now!) I especially can’t wait for ACOWAR (also completely terrified), The Queen of Geek and the Hate U Give! I can’t wati to reaf all these books and discuss! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I MISS YOU TOOOOOO! Hahaha – I would say I’m sorry but I’m not. 😉 Whoop! If we’re gonna go then it might as well be death by books. There are worse things, right? Omg don’t I am so scared for ACOWAR, too. God knows what Maas is going to throw at us – if its anything like Empire of Storms in terms of cliffhanger-ness then we are doomed. Yay! Can’t wait to fangirl/discuss with you, too. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • AWWW! AHAAHAHA! It is the easiest way to go isn’t it? Maybe I should indeed thank you AHAHA! WHAT IS WORSE WHY DO THE INITIALS SPELL WAR?! I won’t be able to handle it if it does, I HOPE NOT! Impatiently waiting for the moment! 🙂

        Like

    • Eeeeee I had forgotten you’d already read Caraval! Now you mention it I remember you raving about it so I definitely already have high hopes. 🙂 I hope you love all of the books on this list that you get your hands on! Thank you, I hope you have the best year, too! ❤ x

      Like

  2. Great picks! It’s looks like May is gonna kill me LOL. I’m so excited for all three of those books! Plus, the Flame in the Mist cover is gorgeous! I hadn’t heard of City of Saints and Thieves, but the premise sounds amazing. I’m so excited that it’s set in Kenya!!! And I’m finishing up Taylor’s trilogy this month and she’s easily turned out to be one of my fave YA authors. I’m so excited for Strange the Dreamer, too! Cheers to our bank account and all the money we’ll be spending this year haha ❤ Happy new year, Sammie! ❤ So happy that you'll be posting more often 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • ME TOO. WE ARE ALL GOING TO BE DEAD BECAUSE OF RHYS AND HIS WINGS AND JULIAN AND HIS PAINTBRUSHES. It does, doesn’t it? The reviews on Goodreads are so, so good as well so I really hope that I like it as much as I think I will. A YA book set in Africa has been a long time coming, too! I just hope that it sets a trend and we get some more diverse geographical settings in the next year or so. I’ve heard great things about her too – her writing style is so pretty! Where would be a good place to start with her books? Absolutely! I can’t wait to spend all of my money on beautiful papery things. ❤ Happy New Year to you, too my friend! Haha – I hope I will be able to stick to that, I don't like to disappoint! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • OH GOD I can’t wait to see what happens with the whole Mark, Emma, and Julian fiasco, and how Feyre gets her revenge. And lord knows I cannot wait to see Rhys again. Ugh five months seems so far awaaaaay. And I definitely hope so! Having books set in the States or in the British Isles so often is wonderful, and gives a sense of familiarity, but I’d love to see many more geographical settings and a more diverse cast of characters in YA fiction! And I’d recommend starting with her trilogy, Daughter of Smoke and Bone. You really get a sense of her eloquent writing and how potent of a storyteller she is in the first book. It just gets better with the second! And no matter how often you post, your content is always very engaging. So no worries 😀 ❤

        Like

  3. Great picks for this topic Sammie, some of these are really highly anticipated releases for me too and I can’t wait to get my hands on them. Strange the Dreamer is definitely very close to the top, so is A Court of Wings and Ruin and Flame in the Mist as well. There are others I need to check out because the covers have definitely caught my eye and they certainly look amazing!
    Great post, and happy new year as well Sammie! ❤ 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Beth! Some really exciting books coming out this year – and this is only the first six months. YA is really smashing it at the moment. Those are probably three that I’m most excited for! I hope you find some others you like. 🙂 Thank youuuu! Happy New Year to you tooo, Beth – may your 2017 be filled with amazing books!

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right, and yeah I know what you mean. It gives me high hopes for the second half of 2017 as well seeing all the amazing releases for the first half! 😀
        I think there are probably more releases we haven’t discovered yet but I hope you enjoy all the books on your list Sammie, and I hope you have a brilliant 2017 filled with amazing books as well! ❤ 😀

        Like

      • For sure! Fingers crossed the latter months live up to the amazing-ness of the beginning of the year. Definitely lots to look forward to. 🙂

        Same here, although I’m trying to steer clear of discovering many more because there are some ARCs I need to read and I keep getting distracted by other books haha! Thank you so much – I hope you enjoy all of your anticipated releases, too. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing your reviews and hearing all about them!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sure they will, there are always amazing books being released and I’m sure there will be brilliant ones in the latter months too.
        I’m actually managing to work my way through most of my ARCs now, I only have two more on my list to read and review, all the others are drafted and pretty much ready to go! 😀

        Like

  4. Oooh, I love the sound of Spindle Fire! I’d not seen that one before, thanks!

    I’m most looking forward to the sequel to Not Your Sidekick by C.B. Lee (Not Your Villain), and Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So many of these are books I’m really excited for too! I don’t think I realized until just now that both SJM’s and Cassie Clare’s book release in May. I feel like I’m going to end up in a slump by reading both of those one after the other. Especially because both of the previous books put me in small slumps lol. Either way, I still can’t wait for them!! Great list, Sammie! I hope you have a fantastic 2017. 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

