The Narnia Book Tag

Thanks to my book-twin Jess of the Mud and Stars Book Blog for nominating me to take part in this tag! Make sure you head over and check her answers out, she’s a bloody wonderful human and a very talented blogger to boot.

The Chronicles of Narnia is one of my all-time favourite children’s book series (or book series of any kind, for that matter) and I’ve been so busy with work and life and responsibility recently that I’d love nothing more than disappear into a wardrobe, emerge in Narnia covered in snow and share a cup of tea with Mr Tumnus.

Turkish Delight, anyone?


NARNIA – A magical world you would like to visit

The Night Court/Velaris from A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

a_court_of_mist_and_fury_cover

Can we all just take a sec to bow to the world building of SJM? Other than Hogwarts, I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather spend a weekend than Rhys’ glittering, sky-high castle in the wind. Obviously Rhys’ presence would improve the experience ten fold, but that is a conversation for another day…


THE MAGICIAN’S NEPHEW – A book you think is underrated

Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

because-you'll-never-meet-me-cover

This quirky little gem hit me right in the feels. It’s a really intriguing blend of sci-fi, magical realism and contemporary and the way the friendship between the two protagonists, Ollie and Moritz, is written is just beautiful. If you’re looking for something a little bit different to the norm, check out Because You’ll Never Meet Me.


THE LION, THE WITCH, AND THE WARDROBE – A classic that you love

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

the-secret-garden-cover

You just can’t beat The Secret Garden. It’s such an evocative read for me, taking me straight back to being a kid and the infinite wonder, frustration and discovery of childhood.


THE HORSE AND HIS BOY – A book you picked up without knowing what it was about

The Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

the_bone_gap_cover

I had absolutely no idea what The Bone Gap  was about prior to reading it and to be honest, post-read, I’m still not sure exactly what happened. If magical realism is your thang, then The Bone Gap, with its topsy-turvy small town, beautiful writing, well-drawn characters and you will be a match made in bookish heaven.

You can check out my review, y’know, if you want to, here.


PRINCE CASPIAN – A sequel that you loved

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins

catching-fire-cover.jpg

I feel like I don’t talk about The Hunger Games series enough anymore, y’know? Can we all just take a minute to re-appreciate what a great trilogy this was? I love Katniss, I love Peeta, I love the development of the world in this sequel and most importantly, I LOVE FINNICK. Oh, Finnick. On the other hand, I hate Gale, but who really cares about him anyway?


THE VOYAGE OF THE DAWN TREADER – A quest you’d like to be a part of

The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (The Chronicles of Narnia #1) by C.S. Lewis

susan-narnia.gif

I mean who wouldn’t right? FOR NARNIA, AND FOR ASLAN!


THE SILVER CHAIR – A book you didn’t expect to love

The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

the-accident-season-cover

I’m still tentatively feeling my way around the magical realism genre, so I wasn’t sure whether I’d like The Accident Season when I borrowed it on a whim from my local library. Turns out, I loved it, devouring it whole in one delicious, mind-bending sitting. It’s a bit heavy on the metaphor, but it is beautifully creepy and wonderfully atmospheric. Check out my review here.


THE LAST BATTLE – A perfect ending to a series you love

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7) by J.K. Rowling

deathlyhal

Was I ever going to pick anything else, I ask you?


THE PEVENSIES – A siblinghood of friendship you’d love to be a part of

The Blackthorn siblings – Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare

lady-midnight-cover

Okay so the relationship between the Blackthorn siblings is a little bit hard to keep track of sometimes purely because THERE ARE JUST SO MANY OF THEM, but I adore the way that Clare wrote them in Lady Midnight – big, complex, messy, quirky and bursting at the seams with affection, rivalry and love.

(Also I didn’t want to be cliche and copy Jess AGAIN by picking the Weasley siblings, who would obviously always be my first choice. Apart from you Percy, you’re an idiot.)


EUSTACE SCRUBB – A character who grew on you

Todd from The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness

I had a bit of a hard time getting into The Knife of Never Letting Go when I first picked it up, and a lot of that was due to being stuck inside the head of Ness’ protagonist, Todd. I’m glad I perservered though, because this series has become one of my all time favourites, and it’s largely because of Todd’s development. He’s such a complex, intelligent, brave and vulnerable creation and I just love him. Sob.

Reviews 1, 2 and 3.


MR. TUMNUS – Your favourite mystical creature

Buckbeak – the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Who doesn’t love Beaky? Any friend of Hagrid’s is a friend of mine. Also, any enemy of Malfoy’s is a friend of mine. Win, win.

buckbeak-gif.gif


CASPIAN – A character with regal qualities

Rhysand – A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

a_court_of_mist_and_fury_cover

I love Rhys as a leader. As you come to understand what makes him tick and the lengths that he’s gone to over the centuries to protect his friends, his country and his people its impossible not admire his sacrifice. Rhys is basically the monarch Westeros needs. He’s too honourable though, so he’d probably have turned up dead about 4 pages into  A Game of Thrones.

Review here. You know the drill.


THE WARDROBE – Your favourite hideout/place to read

I can and will read anywhere and everywhere, including the car, my bed, the sofa, the bath (although I do get slight Kindle-drowning fear with that one) and most recently, my local nail salon. My favourite place to read though is on holiday – iced coffees on tap, beautiful sunshine and best of all, no work or washing up to worry about. Dreamy.


I tag:

Enjoy, loves!

wordpress-sign-off

11 thoughts on “The Narnia Book Tag

  1. Thanks so much for the tag Sammie, and I loved reading your answers as well. I agree with you on a lot of these. The world in A Court of Mist and Fury was an amazing one, so beautifully written and just pure magic as well. I’d love to be able to visit it if it were possible (and if only it was right?) Also I was the same with Bone Gap. I saw an amazing review for it which convinced me to check it out but I still had no idea what the book was about when I picked it up. Luckily I loved it as well! 😀
    I really need to read Lady Midnight (and all the other books in the Shadowhunter world), honestly what you’ve said about the Blackthorn siblings has made me want to get started right away! 😀
    Thanks again for the tag.

    Like

  2. I love this tag so much! Narnia is one of my all time favorites as well and I know what you mean about wishing you could escape into the wardrobe and share tea with Mr. Tumnus. Seriously, if only that were possible. I have a feeling a lot of my answers are going to be similar to yours because I would so visit Velaris, that is my favorite fantasy place right now. And I love Catching Fire, especially because of Finnick. He was my favorite and I am still sore over what happens to him 😢. And being a part of the Blackthorn siblings would be amazing. So far, they are my favorite part of the new series. Plus, I would love to meet Ty. He’s my favorite out of all of them. Also, Because You’ll Never Meet Me has been on my TBR for a while. I’ve not seen a lot about it but it’s great to hear that you loved it. I’ll have to try to pick it up one of these days. Thanks so much for the tag, Sammie!! 💕😊

    Like

  3. Oh I love your answers so much, Sammie! I agree with you about Because You’ll Never Meet Me, I read that book a while ago and was impressed by it, it was surprising in every way -and that ending! ; I am a bit sad it’s so underrated, I think it deserves a lot more love 🙂 And yay for The Accident Season! I didn’t expect to love it that much either, but it’s one of my favorites now 🙂

    Like

  4. OMG Sammie we really are book twins, because I just picked up Bone Gap last week, and I have no idea what it’s about either! I rationalised the purchase with the following thought process: people like it, and it’s pretty, therefore I deserve it. Love your answers – I keep thinking I should re-read The Hunger Games trilogy. I think it’s the only dystopian series I’ve re-read, because it’s just so good. BTW, crying at the thought of Rhys dying dead in Westeros on page 4. Thanks for doing the tag lovely 😀 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

