Interview with a Book Blogger: Dee from Deelightful Days

One of the best things about blogging is the ability it gives you to connect with other people who love reading as much as you do. I’ve met some brilliant people from across the globe since I started my blog, and it’s always lovely when you strike up a conversation with someone who you’d otherwise never meet.

I’ve been blogging for over a year on Bookshelves and Biros now, and I’ve been privileged enough (I legit have no idea how) to have built a pretty decent readership, many of whom I’m lucky enough to call friends! The book blogging community has never been anything but incredibly helpful, utterly supportive and totally brilliant since I started WordPress-ing as a newbie in 2016, and I want to help other new bloggers to feel as welcome as I did.

In typical haphazard fashion, I’ve decided to extend an open invite for collaborations, guest posts, link-ups and other fun stuff to all of the booknerds out there who are new to blogging (or any of you oldies, y’all are always welcome here!) and want to connect with other bloggers. First up to bat is the lovely Dee from Deelightful Days, who I have been lucky enough to interview. Please do check out Dee’s answers below and then head straight over to her blog (which is v.pretty, I gotta say) to check out what she’s been up to!

If you’re reading this, and you fancy working on something cool together (Potter collaborations are always most welcome!) then drop me a line on bookshelvesandbiros@gmail.com or tweet me @booksandbiros.

Over to you, Dee!


Hello readers! I’m terrible when it comes to introductions, but here goes nothing. dee-deeightful-daysI’m Dee, book blogger over at Deelightful Days. I’m a junior in college, studying Creative Writing and History in hopes of one day fulfilling my dream of becoming a published author. When I’m not drowning in schoolwork, I like to read, write, binge-watch Netflix shows, and peruse YouTube. Thanks for reading! xx

Why did you decide to start blogging?
I’m a big fan of YouTube. I started watching beauty bloggers when I was a freshman in high school, but one of the girls I watched had a second channel where she posted book reviews. I noticed that those were the videos I most looked forward to, but at this time Booktube hadn’t really taken off. Once I realized that there were entire channels devoted to reading and books, I knew that this was something that I could do. However, the idea of sitting in front of a camera and posting videos of myself talking scared me (although I still think about starting a channel everyday) so I decided that I would start a blog of my own. Writing was always my forte, anyway. 😉

Do you have any super helpful websites, blogging resources or reading tricks that everyone should know about?
That’s a tough one. I’ve found that what works for other people does not always work for me in terms of scheduling and just how I work/plan/organize. Pinterest is a good way to find different methods and tips in terms of blogging, so I’d start there with some general searches and integrate them in a way that works for you. Anything that I’ve learned or incorporated into my life as a blogger has come from Pinterest. I have a whole board dedicated to blogging, and I recommend that every blogger regardless of what content he or she posts, should have a board dedicated to tips and tricks. As far as reading tricks, if you want to get yourself into a schedule, dedicate a short period of time (30 minutes to 1 hour) to reading everyday. I do this just because my life can get rather busy sometimes, so rewarding myself with that time to read is something I can look forward to. However, don’t force yourself to read if you don’t want to. The last thing you want is to have reading feel like a chore. I’d also think about reading multiple books at one time and in different mediums (i.e. audiobook, e-book, etc.) I’m almost always reading an actual book and listening to an audiobook. I like this because I can still engross myself in a story even when I have to be doing other things like walking to class, driving, or cleaning.

What’s been your favourite part of being a blogger so far?
Internet friends! Haha, but in all seriousness, I love the online book community! It’s great to have people to talk to about what you’re currently reading or what your next read should be. I never have a problem with finding a book to read because I’m constantly checking out what other people are reading. Receiving ARCs is really awesome, too, especially when you get a book that you’re really looking forward to!

Most anticipated books of 2017?
Ooh, I actually just wrote a blog post about this, but I’ll name a few. Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth, Once and For All by Sarah Dessen, and Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller. You can read my full list here.

What’s do you think is the best post you’ve created for your blog (your favourite)?
I think my favorite post that I’ve ever done is the Narnia tag! I’m a huge fan of tags—it’s so fun to read other bloggers’ answers and to spend time coming up with my own answers to the questions. Narnia is also one of my favorite book series, so that made it all the better.

What’s your Patronus (if you’ve done the test!)?
Of course I’ve done the test! I actually can’t remember off the top of my head–I’ll need to check. *logs onto Pottermore* Ah, an Irish Wolfhound. I forget if they provided a brief explanation of each Patrnous, but I can’t seem to find one at the moment.

Do you have any hobbies or things that keep you busy outside of blogging?
I’m currently a full-time student, so when I’m not blogging I’m in class or working on homework, papers, and projects. I’m a Creative Writing major, however, so luckily my work usually consists of hours of reading and/or writing, which I obviously don’t mind. 😉 After getting an apartment of my own, I’ve found that I really enjoy cooking (not a big fan of dishes, though). It’s a simple task, but it gives me an hour where I can just concentrate on what I’m doing and not have to think about anything that’s currently stressing me out. Plus, I usually listen to an Audiobook while making dinner, so it’s also a small sliver of time that I also get to read something that isn’t school-related.

Any blog goals or wishes for 2017?
I think my main goal is to create more content and perhaps get into a posting schedule. This tends to be a bit more difficult now with going back to school, but I’m slowly finding ways to dedicate time to blog posts and reading. I’d also like to interact with more bloggers in the book community!

Give me one of your favourite bookish quotes!
I recently read Unfiltered by Lily Collins and found myself identifying with the book in its entirety. My favorite quote, however, has to be “I am whole just as I am. I am defined not by my life experiences but by how I let them affect me and how I handle myself in each situation.”

What’s your favourite genre and why?
The majority of what I read is YA Fiction. Recently I’ve been most interested in science fiction/fantasy, although there are some contemporary writers that I enjoy such as Sarah Dessen, John Green, and Jennifer Niven. I’m a big fan of historical fiction as well, and that’s typically the only genre that I’ll read if it isn’t YA. I’m trying to branch out in terms of genres because I think it’s a good idea to expose yourself to a variety of topics/issues, so I’ll read memoirs/biographies from time to time!

You can find Dee’s blog at https://deelightfuldays.com/


wordpress-sign-off

16 thoughts on “Interview with a Book Blogger: Dee from Deelightful Days

  1. I love these kinds of posts where I can meet new people. I already follow Dee’s blog and her twitter! Looking forward to finding new peeps here as I’ve started my book blog about 2 years ago. I still feel brand new though ha!

    Like

  2. Lovely feature idea Sammie! What a wonderful way to find new book bloggers to follow.

    Side note: I can’t believe we have been blogging for over a year now. I remember you being one of my first book blogger buddies when I started out 🙂 Look at us now lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great interview, Sammie! And I love this feature. It’s a great way to introduce new bloggers and to establish new connections among the blogging community. Can’t wait to see who you interview next 😀

    Like

    • Thanks very much, Azia! I think so. I just want to make people feel welcome (when I’m actually here to do that haha…) like I was made to feel welcome when I started. 🙂 I’m not sure when the next one will be, but hopefully some other newbies might approach me. We shall see! 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much lovely, and really sorry it’s taken me SO long to reply to this message! Everything has been a little bit crazy over the last few months. That’s the idea! I’ve got another in the pipeline, but if you ever want to do a collab let me know. 🙂 Hope you’re good! x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh that’s all right! And I’m fine 🙂 Just really busy nowadays. I’m happy to hear back from you! And sure thing! I’d love to do a collab with you ❤ Hope everything's all right with you too!

        Like

Leave a Reply

